MINT FIELD Share New Single “Delicadeza” – Taken From Forthcoming Album ‘Sentimiento Mundial’ Due Sept 25th Via Felte

August 16, 2020
Photo credit: Mirando Rosales 


Share new single & video “Delicadeza”
Album ‘Sentimiento Mundial’ due Sept 25th via Felte Records

Mexico City based Mint Field are are sharing their new single & video Delicadeza” from their upcoming album ‘Sentimiento Mundial‘, which is set for release Sept 25th via Felte Records.

Director Santiago Padilla Arouesty explains what the video means to him. “I think of this video as a glimpse into a variety of emotions presented to us in the past few months and how most of us have been living inside our heads rather than in the outside world; from boredom to calmness passing through anger and frustration. I wanted to make a portrait of the times at which we are more likely to be delicate.”

The band elaborate and explain, “This song is about how delicacy can be really intimate, a place where feelings are connected. When this moment happens we learn how to guide ourselves with our own feelings.”

Mint Field was originally formed in Tijuana by Estrella Sanchez and Amor Amezcua in 2015 and is now led by vocalist and guitarist Estrella del Sol with Sebastian Neyra on bass. The band creates a unique blend of avant pop that explores the nostalgia and melancholy of daily life with complex rhythms, loud, shimmering guitars, and softly sighing vocals. Emerging from the two most exciting destinations for art and music in Mexico, the band originally formed in Tijuana before relocating to Mexico City where they are now based.

Following the release of their debut album Pasar de las Luces in 2018, the band toured extensively, playing over 100 shows including dates in North America, Mexico, and two headline tours in Europe. Without skipping a beat, the band recorded the Mientras Esperas EP, releasing it in March 2019. With continued touring in the US, Canada, and Mexico, Mint Field closed the summer of 2019 with two sold-out shows in Mexico City.

The band quickly went on to record their second full-length, Sentimiento Mundial, in London at Wilton Way Studios with producer Syd Kemp and help from drummer Callum Brown (both of Ulrika Spacek). The album sees the evolution of the band’s psych-shoegaze sound shift toward a more minimal, rhythmically focused approach. “Natural” resumes Mint Field’s classic sound with a dreamy guitar that bursts into raucous distortion, elevated by the addition of violin, strings, and saxophone. This was achieved with the help of guest collaborators Cathy Lucas (Vanishing Twin) and Nathan Pigott, who along with Kemp are part of the HAHA Sounds Collective. The motorik beat of “Contingencia” sets a krautrock-inspired tone that’s taken to new heights with del Sol’s angelic voice. Hauntingly melodic, “Delicadeza” perfectly captures the band’s very own type of supernatural shoegaze. Sentimiento Mundial crystalizes Mint Field’s distinctive, contemporary sound with passion and energy that takes listeners to unimaginable places.

Pre-order ‘Sentimiento Mundial’ here:

‘Sentimiento Mundial’ track list:
1. Cuida Tus Pasos
2. Natural
3. Delcadeza
4. Contingencia
5. Aterrizar
6. Le Hable a La Ola Del Mar
7. Sentimiento Mundial
8. Nuestro Sentido
9. Nadie Te Esta Persiguiendo
10. No Te Caigas
11. Presente


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.