News, Reviews

Jaye Jayle shares the video for “A Cold Wind” from Prisyn, the new album out now on Sargent House

August 13, 2020
Artist photo by: A.F. Cortes


The song appears on the new album Prisyn, out now on Sargent House

 Visionary artist Jaye Jayle is celebrating the release of his new album Prisyn with a video for the album’s driving, winding single “A Cold Wind.” 

The clip, directed by Josh Ford, features unique textures and landscapes and creates an expressive visual component for the track.   

Of the song, Evan Patterson comments: “‘A Cold Wind’ is about the painful infatuation that is love. Those moments of not being able to enjoy or take in the beauty of one’s surroundings without obsessive comparisons to that of a lover. Not lusting, but desiring for comfort, security, and calmness of another.”

Yet again another haunting exploration from Jaye Jayle. The composition is guided by the brooding vocals and descriptive lyrics which assist in building this dramatic environment before the eerie elements chime in and moves the track to it’s climatic finale.

“A Cold Wind” is the opening track of Jaye Jayle’s recently released album, Prisyn.  On the record, Patterson takes his boldest leap into unknown territories, capturing immediate moments in his ever-shifting surroundings with the most basic tool at his disposal—the GarageBand app on an iPhone 8. Instead of his usual backing band, he paired up with Ben Chisholm (White Horse, Revelator, Chelsea Wolfe) as collaborator and producer to create an electronic album completely unlike anything else in his discography. 

The album’s title is a play on the idea of a synthetic prison, and alludes to Patterson’s desire for artistic freedom and the album’s conflicted use of addictive technologies.  But in the time of the pandemic, he also views it as an example of overcoming adversity in desperate times; this is a record that could have been made under the jail-like confines of quarantine, with Patterson and Chisholm having never been in the same room at the same time. 

 Patterson comments, “These songs have a totally different energy, and that’s the exciting thing about making art. Things have to progress. I don’t want to draw the same picture for the rest of my life. Maybe that keeps you from being a master at it, but being a master isn’t the key to art. It’s having that constant expression, the constant outlet, the constant change.”

Prisyn is out now from Sargent House and is available on physical and digital platforms here

Prisyn, track listing:

1.  A Cold Wind

2.  Don’t Blame the Rain

3.  Synthetic Prison

4.  The River Spree

5.  Making Friends

6.  Guntime

7.  Blueberries

8.  I Need You

9.  Last Drive

10.  From Louisville 

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.