News, Reviews

EL TEN ELEVEN share new single “Shimmered” from Tautology III out 18th September on Joyful Noise Recordings

August 29, 2020
Photo credit: Shervin Lainez

share new single “Shimmered”
from Tautology III
out 18th September on Joyful Noise Recordings

El Ten Eleven have shared the final single from their Tautology series, Tautology III (Sept. 18, Joyful Noise Recordings), with the release of “Shimmered”. 

“Shimmered” starts with augmented notes, this wobbled slightly distorted tone provides an ominous soundscape for “Shimmered” before the cymbal is delicately hit and the drum kit is welcomed into this expansive orchestration. The kit is hit, the bass brings its standout recognizable timbre into the journey before this sudden momentous injection of fuzz, an unruly angular attack dynamically alters the atmosphere.

Suddenly “Shimmered” feels intense, a crushing emphasis. The whirling notes captivate the listener before another abrupt passage joins the chaos- this time a reflection to the song title- shimmering notes break up the power that was just effortlessly layered up and looped into this track. Now brighter tones are inflicted, giving an essence of hope to this mystical aura.

El Ten Eleven continue to craft a story within their sound, in fact, more than a story, an entire world that evolves before you.

“‘Shimmered’ is an extension of the song Shimmer from Tautology II.”  explains Kristian Dunn. “If you listen closely you’ll hear that the slide melody in both songs is the same. Like the full records II and III themselves, these songs represent middle age and old age. At 3:45 I purposely set the delay (echo) for those high bass chords to be off a bit. To me it’s a representation of being off a bit in old age but still really beautiful. ” 

He continues to say “In ‘Shimmered’, the “nasty” chords come in around 2:32, then resolve themselves into the uplifting chords. I’ve noticed in my dad, who is 85 years old, that he doesn’t really get in bad moods any longer. He seems to always be sort of chipper. He’s got health problems, but his temper has disappeared. So these two sections of the songs are a representation of that.” “Shimmered” follows the single, “You Are A Piece of Me, You Are a Piece of Her” also from Tautology III and is the final track to be released from the Tautology series.

El Ten Eleven jointly described the arc as “three records that represent the journey from adolescence through end of life. There are shared melodies and harmonies through all of the records, but each of the records has a distinct quality that represents three phases of life. The first (Tautology I), which represents adolescence, is angsty, aggressive and occasionally depressive. The second (Tautology II), which represents middle age, is mid-tempo. The last (Tautology III), which represents the golden years, is more ambient and quiet.”

The Tautology series is initially available digitally with both 3xLP and 3xCD physical versions available on September 18th on Joyful Noise Records. A hyper-limited, multi-color vinyl variant sold out upon announcement, with a limited-edition clear vinyl variant, as well as a standard black vinyl iteration for sale via the Joyful Noise Recordings’ webstore ( 

Tautology I track list:

  1. Entropy
  2. With Report
  3. Jejune
  4. Moral Dynamite
  5. Division
  6. Lassitude

Tautology II track list:

  1. Besotted
  2. Shimmer
  3. Nocturne
  4. The Silent Bell That Rings
  5. Half Mast
  6. Queen’s Gambit
  7. Growing Shorter

Tautology III track list:

Tautology III

1. Farrago
2. Caducity
3. You Are A Piece of Me, You Are a Piece of Her
4. Aubade
5. Shimmered
6. Let’s All Go Out Like Francis
7. Senescent
8. All of This Bliss Doesn’t Come Without a Price

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.