News, Reviews


July 17, 2020
credit Daniel Dorsa




MICHELLE announce the release of “SUNRISE.” The song marks the first new single from the NYC-based collective since their self-released 2018 debut album HEATWAVE, and their first original release with Transgressive/Canvasback.

SUNRISE” arrives alongside an official music video, animated by New York artist Kohana Wilson – watch here – with the single’s artwork created by fellow NYC creative Niko Chang.

Of the track, the band shares:

SUNRISE holds some kind of a summer air, but more so a longing for someone who could never really show up. A sentiment as sticky, sweaty, and fleeting as summer. Sunrise is as bittersweet as it is groovy. We’re grateful that the first song we’re releasing since HEATWAVE gets to be one we’ve held on to, sang, rewritten, and lived with for so long.”

Sunshine is a stunning new arrangement which utilises the complimenting far-reaching vocals of the collective. Harmony is forever the key to Michelle’s outlook, especially for this track. As the talented band build upon these intricate layers of instrumentation as the base for this soulful rhythmic orchestration. Michelle have created a complex and consuming vibe to their projection. Uplifting elements are found within their sound which carries the audience and their mood. So refreshing!

Today’s new music comes on the heels of recent video releases from the six-piece – including a pair of performance videos for HEATWAVE track “THE BOTTOM,” recorded during a show at The Dance +live from Atlantic Records Studioin New York.

In May, “THE BOTTOM” received the remix treatment from Rosa Walton of Let’s Eat Grandma (listen), as well as a cover from Transgressive Records labelmate Arlo Parks (watch). Earlier this year, MICHELLE released a cover of their own, by way of a rendition of Roberta Flack’s “Killing Me Softly” (watch).

This spring, the group was featured in The FADER’s Digital SXSW Fort, creating a deconstructed version of “STUCK ON U,” also off their 2018 LP (watch here). In May, the band recorded a ‘quarantine version’ of their song “MANGO,” raising money for No Kid Hungry (watch here).

The group’s debut album HEATWAVE – a streets-and-skylines homage to their hometown – was created in just 2 weeks and self-released in 2018, seamlessly weaving together R&B-inflected pop, sleek synths, plush harmonies, and buoyant groove. Heralded by stand-out track “THE BOTTOM,” HEATWAVE amassed millions of streams, led to shows for sold-out NYC crowds atBaby’s All Right and Webster Hall, and has earned critical acclaim from The Fader, NME and more, as well as airplay from BBC Radio 1 and 6 Music.

Born-and-bred New Yorkers, MICHELLE is refreshingly comprised of predominately POC + queer members. The collective references equally diverse influences — Noname, Led Zeppelin, Sly and the Family Stone, Orion Sun, My Chemical Romance, SZA — all of which distill to create a cohesively diverse sound.

The group’s unique stylings are the result of songwriting from Sofia D’AngeloJulian KaufmanCharlie KilgoreLayla KuEmma Lee and Jamee Lockard with production from Kaufman and Kilgore.

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.