Feature, News, Reviews

DEHD share new single “Month”- Album ‘Flower of Devotion’ out July 17th on Fire Talk

July 8, 2020
Photo Credit: Alexa Viscius

Share new single & video, “Month”
Album ‘Flower of Devotion’ out July 17th
  via Fire Talk

Chicago-based trio Dehd release a final pre-release single/video from their new album, ‘Flower of Devotion’, which will be released on July 17th on Fire Talk.

Following previously released singles Flood and Loner,”“Month is a laid-back, drifting summery track. In the accompanying video, directed by Cal Fish and made entirely in quarantine, animated drawings appear over ambiguous video clips.

Month explores the cyclical nature of memory and how our relationship with a particular time changes through the years” says Jason Balla. “I’m fixed on summer and its inevitable return. Carefree and sun-kissed, there’s a shadow of loss, guilt and grief coming back round n’ round each calendar year.“

Dehd are just a week away from releasing the album of 2020. Dehd excite us. This is easily one of the strongest acts around who are destined to captivate any audience. ‘Flower of Devotion’  will become a monumental release to so many, each track they’ve unveiled from the forthcoming album has found its ability to move the listener in so many ways. With “Month” the band showcases their flawless ability to craft beautiful and deep expressive instrumentations. Complimenting harmonies layer upon one another and the lyrics reach out. Compelling, complex, and exuding emotions. A somewhat pensive piece, reflective and raw. This trio bring such powerful elements to their execution- Dehd are integral!

Dehd is the Chicago-based trio of Emily Kempf (vocals/bass), Jason Balla (vocals/guitar), and Eric McGrady (drums). Flower of Devotion’ sees the band coming to the international stage for the first time, following a European tour with Twin Peaks at the end of 2019. 

Dehd went into the album’s writing and recording with clear minds, ready to take what they’d learned on their previous record, 2019’s ‘Water’, and refine it further. “The last record the vibe was ‘How minimal can it be? What’s the minimum that a song requires to succeed?’ This one was like, ‘How can we make this thing that’s really powerful?,” says Balla. Kempf clarifies: “We didn’t become more perfectionist. We’ve always been really scrappy, but we decided to polish our scrappiness just a little bit.” 

That polish brings out the shining and melancholy undertones in Balla and Kempf’s songwriting, even as it captures them at their most strident. His guitar lines at times flirt with ticklish cosmic country, while at others they reflect the dark marble sounds of Broadcast. Kempf, meanwhile, establishes herself as a singer of incredible expressive range, pinching into a high lonesome wail, letting loose a chirping “ooh!,” pushing her voice below its breaking point and letting  it swing down there. When she and Balla bounce descending counter-melodies off one another over McGrady’s one-two thumps, or skitter off over a programmed drum pad, they sound like The B-52s shaking off heartache.

While they were writing the album, Kempf says, “we both went through hell, literally, and the world seems to be going through hell, too.” Balla experienced profound loss and all that comes with it: For him, the album is about “all the fixes you try to put on your problems,”he says, “struggling with bad impulses.” Kempf, for her part, cultivated the sense of self-sufficiency she craved, which forced her to confront her own need for attachment. “I’m obsessed with being with people, or I’ll have my identity attached to a partnership, whether it’s romantic or in the band,” she says. “How can I be utterly alone and chill?” 

‘Flower of Devotion’ will be released on July 17th and is available to pre-order here: https://ffm.to/dehdforever

‘Flower of Devotion’ track list:
1. Desire
2. Loner
3. Haha
4. Drip Drop
5. Month
6. Disappear
7. Flood
8. Letter
9. Nobody
10. No Time
11. Moonlight
12. Apart
13. Flying


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.