News

ALGIERS announce rescheduled 2021 EU tour dates, share filmed live performance, Massive Attack collaboration out now

July 16, 2020
credit: Christian Högstedt

ALGIERS ANNOUNCE NEW 2021 EUROPEAN TOUR DATES

WATCH LIVE PERFORMANCE OF ‘ANIMALS’ FILMED IN ATLANTA

 MASSIVE ATTACK COLLABORATION ON NEW AUDIO-VISUAL EP EUTOPIA OUT NOW

THERE IS NO YEAR OUT NOW ON MATADOR RECORDS

Algiers have announced new and rescheduled European tour dates for 2021 in support of their new record, There Is No Year, out now on Matador Records. The full list of dates can be found below. [Please note the band consider the public health implications of live performance during the COVID-19 crisis to be of the utmost importance, and all dates are subject to rearrangement should conditions continue to make public gatherings unsafe in early 2021]. Alongside, the band have shared a new energized live rendition of ‘Animals’, taken from their sophomore LP The Underside of Power, recently recorded in their hometown of Atlanta. 

The last few months have seen Algiers maintain a flurry of activity. In May they released a special edition 7” via Bandcamp during the site’s 24-hour revenue waive, with all proceeds going to organizations committed to combatting state-sanctioned violence against Black people in the United States, including Metro Atlanta Mutual Aid Fund, As They Lay, and Black Alliance for Just Immigration. The A-side, ‘Can the Sub_Bass Speak?’, a profound and furious meditation on the limitations imposed on what ‘black music’ is and can be from frontman Franklin James Fisher, and B-side ‘It All Comes Around Again’, a previously unreleased track, are available to listen to and purchase HERE.

Elsewhere, Algiers have collaborated with Massive Attack on new audio-visual EP Eutopia, their first new release in four years. The piece, featuring an address from UN Paris Climate Agreement author Christiana Figueres on the global ecological crisis, can be viewed HERE. The EP also features collaborations with Saul Williams and Young Fathers, and addresses from political speakers Guy Standing and Gabriel Zucman.

In addition, bassist/synthesist Ryan Mahan recently penned an op-ed on destroying structural white supremacy for The Quietus, titled ‘Why Monuments Are More Than Racist Symbols’.

Algiers’ prescient and powerful third full-length effort There Is No Year was released in January on Matador Records and was met with widespread acclaim from fans and critics alike, including The New York TimesThe GuardianAfropunkDIY and more, and saw the band making their TV debut on The Late Show with Stephen Colbert in February where they performed standout single ‘Dispossession’. 
 

Algiers 2021 Tour Dates:
Mon Feb 1 – Hamburg, Germany @ Knust
Tue Feb 2 – Copenhagen, Denmark @ Stengade
Thu Feb 4 – Norway, Oslo @ Revolver
Fri Feb 5 – Stockholm, Sweden @ Nalen Klubb
Sat Feb 6 – Lund, Sweden @ Mejeriet
Tue Feb 9 – Berlin, Germany @ Lido
Wed Feb 10 – Gdansk, Poland @ Drizzly Grizzly
Sat Feb 13 – St. Petersburg, Russia @ Morze club
Sun Feb 14 – Moscow, Russia @ Shagi Club
Wed Feb 17 – Minsk, Belarus @ Brugge club
Fri Feb 19 – Kiev, Ukraine @ Caribbean club
Sun Feb 21 – Chisinau, Moldova @ Bandabar
Tue Feb 23 – Bucharest, Romania @ Control Club
Wed Feb 24 – Sofia, Bulgaria @ Terminal 1
Fri Feb 26 – Thessaloniki, Greece @ Εightball Club
Set Feb 27 – Athens, Greece @ Temple
Mon Mar 1 – Skopje, North Macedonia @ MKC
Tue Mar 2 – Belgrade, Serbia @ Elektropionir club
Wed Mar 3 – Cluj, Romania @ Form Space
Thu Mar 4 – Budapest, Hungary @ Dürer Kert – middle room
Sat Mar 6 – Bratislava, Slovakia @ Nova Cvernovka
Sun Mar 7 – Zagreb, Croatia @ Vintage Industrial
Mon Mar 8 – Rijeka, Croatia @ Pogon culture
Tue Mar 9 – Linz, Austria @ Posthof
Thu Mar 11 – Bern, Switzerland @ ISC
Fri Mar 12 – Zurich, Switzerland @ Bogen F
Sat Mar 13 – Milan, Italy @ Serraglio 

https://algierstheband.com/

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.