Circuit Sweet Introducing, Feature, News, Reviews

Treehouse Announce New EP “Unappealing” Due July 3rd Via Beth Shalom Records | EP Feature

June 7, 2020


London based trio signed to Beth Shalom Records with the announcement of their 2nd EP “Unappealing” due July 3rd

Emo trio, Treehouse are pleased to announce the release of their upcoming EP, Unappealing, out via Beth Shalom Records on July 3rd. The lead single, Nurture, was unveiled June 5th and is the first taste of the bold release which is to follow.

Treehouse has members hailing from Slough, London & Southampton and together the 3 have been working hard on the follow up to their debut EP, released nearly 3 years ago.

Treehouse consists of Max Whitby (Guitar) Billy Young (Drums/Vocals) & Dominic James (Bass/Vocals). Dom joined the band officially in the summer of 2019 after he joined on bass for an upcoming tour following his previous band Scarecrow Boat coming to an end. The new single, streaming above features Tom Webb on drums.

The forthcoming 4 track release delves into themes of Mental Health, desperation, and worthlessness, and once amalgamated, the title Unappealing was agreed.

Unappealing Track List

  1. Seek
  2. Purple
  3. Nurture
  4. Bliss

The record in its entirety is rapacious and resilient. Each track projects a carefully controlled aggression, brash beats, scratchy screamo vocals and driving rhythms. Treehouse are masters at creating and capturing their fierce musical revolution. “Unappealing” is an obnoxious and forceful collection of complex change.

Treehouse have effortlessly captured immersive and innovative chaos within their deliverance. Equal measures emo, punk and hardcore fill the EP. Melodic and spazzy riffs, fast and forward pushing dexterous drum beats and at times desperate screams and brave lyrics. Whereas the new single “Nurture” shares the raging rhythms of the entire band with cutting and intense notes jarring over the heavy vocals. The musicians change the level of intensity and aggression as they craft dynamic instrumentation, building up the momentum at darker times within the EP such as “Purple”. Throughout it all, the layers and wall of sound devised within each composition never fails to hit you. The depth of this trio is a courageous feat, 3 musicians continue to deliver such a full sounding and vast 4 track EP.

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.