SONG SUNG share new single ‘The Mind’s Eye’- Debut album ‘This Ascension Is Ours’ due July 31st via Night Time Stories

June 24, 2020


– Share new single “The Mind’s Eye”
– Debut album ‘This Ascension Is Ours’ due July 31st via Night Time Stories

Song Sung, made up of twin sisters Georgina and Una McGeough, are sharing their new single “The Mind’s Eye” today. The track is taken from their upcoming debut album This Ascension Is Ours‘ due July 31st via Night Time Stories. 

Speaking about the track, the band said “This song wrestles with doubt, but is fought with hope. It’s provocative and resilient and in a way, quite anthemic. We can fall down together, but in defiance, we will stand up forever.”

Night Time Stories · Song Sung – The Minds Eye

Georgina and Una McGeough who comprise Song Sung, grew up in Monaghan, a gnat’s width away from the border with Northern Ireland. Despite their relative geographic isolation, theirs was a stimulating childhood. “We had a very normal upbringing, but we were music-obsessed children” says Una. “Our father played in showbands in the ’70s and ’80s, so music was very prevalent at home. Our mother applied a creative twist to everything she touched, so we inherited that mindset.”

The pair admit that they first went to Belfast School of Art to get closer to music: “in retrospect, I think we used art school as a way to develop and incorporate sound and musical ideas into our practice, because it’s always been about the music. We definitely had a strong interest in visual art, but music interested us the most.”

Over a decade ago, they moved to New York and began forging careers in the art world, while simultaneously managing to amass this vast catalogue of material in, quite frankly, the most unorthodox way imaginable (possibly contributing to the idiosyncrasies of their songwriting). “We make melodies using alternative ways, but we also dabble in software” explains Georgina, “in the beginning, we created melodies by using our own vocals over some of our favourite music. Our first apartment in the East Village, was located above a bar and our back room was situated directly above the DJ booth. This is going to sound ridiculous, but it’s true, we started making melodies over the bass of the tracks coming through the floor from the bar below.” From that, a process of layering vocals, however obscure, was how the band started to formulate songs.

Via a mutual friend, the filmmaker Seamus Harahan, Song Sung connected with the producer David Holmes. “At the time, Seamus was working with David on a collaborative project – in an effort to exchange work, he sent us a track to work on, so we pulled something together fairly quickly and sent it back,” says Una. ‘David loved it’, so Georgina got his contact details from a mutual friend in New York. “I sent David an email,” continues Georgina, “and suggested meeting to talk about music, even though an album wasn’t even really on our agenda. David got in touch and we arranged to meet later in the year.”

That meeting was in December 2015 and by early 2016, they spent three days holed up in Holmes’ studio laying down the tracks for an album. They had been collaboratively bouncing tracks back and forth between New York and Belfast for a short period, with Holmes sending the arrangements and Song Sung writing the lyrics and vocal melodies.

Fast forward four years and the result is a hypnotically unique sound that is strangely anthemic, coming on like a space-age girl-group transmitting directly from Jupiter. Holmes, known for his many film scores co-wrote and produced the album with fellow composer and Unloved band-mate Keefus Ciancia (True Detective / The Ladykillers). The pair have a long-standing working relationship and have worked on numerous scores including The Fall and Killing Eve (for which they won a BAFTA) as well as both Unloved albums.

“We were very excited to work with David and the process worked amazingly well. He got us immediately”, claims Una. Georgina nods her approval. “Working on this album was an absolute dream. We only hope that the songs resonate, as they make their journey out into the world.”

This Ascension Is Ours tracklist:
1. Come To The Water
2. Telling Tales
3. Somewhere
4. Orbiting Slow (Here It Comes)
5. Take Some Time
6. Testimony of Tears
7. Let It Go (An Act of Sorrow) 
8. The Mind’s Eye
9. Come Whispering, Come Half Awake
10. Nothing Ever Dies

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.