HONEY JOY announce new album ‘II’ set for release 4th Sept via Everything Sucks Music

June 17, 2020

HONEY JOY Announce new album ‘II’ due out 4th Sept

on Everything Sucks Music

DIY London band Honey Joy’s forthcoming second album, aptly titled ‘II’, is a journey between the dark and the light. Vocalist Meg Tinsley wrote half the songs whilst signed-off sick from work due to her mental health  and the other half when she was out the other side and on a mission of self love. It’s “an exploration of the places your mind can go and a narrative of my experiences during those times,” she says. ‘II’ is set for release 04 September via London-based punk indie label Everything Sucks Music and the first single ‘Part Two: The Healer’ has just been released. 

‘Part Two: The Healer’ is the embodiment of Meg’s attempts to practice self love, following a rough period with her mental health. It’s about coming out the other side. 

‘II’ was recorded at the sadly recently closed Music Land Studios in Haggerston, London with Simon Small (Black MIDI, Apologies, I Have None, Cult Dreams, The Front Bottoms) over a mere five days last year. “Our beloved pug dog Vinnie was on hand at each session to give creative advice to Simon when it was needed,” says guitarist (and Meg’s husband) Matt Tinsley.

Matt, Jay (drums), Giles (guitar) and Joe (bass) grew up together and have been playing music in bands with each other since they were 16 years old. As Honey Joy, the band have played shows across the UK and in Europe and the US. They released their self-titled debut album in 2017. 

1. Diversion Tactics
2. Finally Home
3. Pain
4. Acute On Chronic
5. Part One: The Contagion
6. Part Two: The Healer 
7.  Raising Boys
8. Queen Ray
9. Saluting Magpies

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.