I LIKE TRAINS announce new LP ‘KOMPROMAT’ for Aug 21 release on Atlantic Curve- New video “The Truth” streaming now

May 6, 2020
Photo credit: Ben Bentley 

I LIKE TRAINS- Announce new album ‘KOMPROMAT’
– Out August 21st via Atlantic Curve
– New single & video “The Truth” online now
– Live Q&A this Saturday at 8:30pm BST

I LIKE TRAINS return with new single “The Truth”, the first track taken from their razor-sharp, hard-hitting new record “KOMPROMAT”, which will be released August 21st via Schubert Music’s newly founded Atlantic Curve. The band will discuss the record live with journalist Simon Catling this Saturday, May 9th at 20:30 BST via their FacebookTwitter and Instagram pages.
The Leeds band’s first studio album in eight years deals with knotted themes of information; how we consume it, and how we can possibly make any sense of it in an age of constant bombardment. First single “The Truth”cuts to the very heart of the matter. 
“This was one of the final tracks to come together for the album,” vocalist David Martin explains. “It came from a list I was keeping over a number of months. I would follow the news and social media and add a line or two a day, so that it ended up plotting the news cycle over that period. The amount of information we’re fed on a daily basis is enormous. Everyone is so keen to “break” the news as quickly as possible, that it becomes impossible to comprehend it, and draw a meaningful narrative through it. How does this event connect to that one? Who gains what because this happened? Who is missing out? It’s exhausting.” 
The single is accompanied by a deep-fake karaoke video directed by previous co-conspirator Michael Connolly – a Leeds born artist and designer. “The track is relentless and I wanted the film to feel the same. Claustrophobia and confusion were my watch words” he comments. “I wanted the film to go beyond the standard music video ‘archive footage’ edit. I combined deepfakes, distorted visuals, and digital découpé techniques to create an intense level of disorientation. I feel this really gives the film it’s own weird paranoid trippy nightmare world – it sums up the last four years in geopolitics pretty well for me.”

‘KOMPROMAT’ pre-order:

Eight years on from their last full-length album, I LIKE TRAINS return with KOMPROMATThe band takes an unflinching view of a world that has changed beyond all recognition in that time. It’s a record digging beneath populism’s rise, from the divide and conquer tactics that caused Brexit in the UK, to the ascent of Trump in America and the subsequent reign of lies and misinformation, to discover the grubby hands that have engineered it all. 

“An I LIKE TRAINS record doesn’t really start to take shape until there’s a theme”, says the group’s vocalist and lyricist David Martin“That point came following Edward Snowden’s NSA leaks in 2013.” 

At the time, Martin started writing about low-key, insidious intrusions on our privacy. As global events unfolded, however, so did the importance of those themes: the perception of what is true and what isn’t true being challenged on a daily basis and how that confusion could be used to manipulate populations into thinking and voting in certain ways. 

“We didn’t set out to write a record about current affairs, but the path we set out on converged drastically with that daily discourse. The album inadvertently became about populist politics across the world. Brexit, Trump, Cambridge Analytica and covert Russian influence ended up at the centre of it all” Martin says. 

I LIKE TRAINS – made up of Martin (vocals/guitar), Alistair Bowis (bass), Guy Bannister (guitar/synths), Simon Fogal (drums) and Ian Jarrold (guitar) – have never shied away from confronting the possibility of humanity’s collapse, of course. Early records, like the towering, Godspeed-influenced Progress Reform (2006) and Elegies to Lessons Learnt (2007) took tales of tragic characters and events from history and applied them to the modern day, while He Who Saw The Deep (2010) looked uneasily ahead to the climate change battle we stand on the precipice of losing. Previous album The Shallows (2012) focused on how the internet and smart technology is re-wiring the human mind and affecting our concentration spans.

KOMPROMAT simultaneously sounds like none of those records, yet also contains DNA from all of them. The group have gone back to go forwards in some ways, returning to some of the primary influences that caused them to first form back in 2004: Joy Division, The Birthday Party, Gang of Four, Television and The Velvet Underground. It marks a welcome return for a band who remain a singular presence away from the ebb and flow of UK guitar music fashion; a band in their own orbit, working to their own distinctive style.

‘KOMPROMAT’ will be released on August 21st via Atlantic Curve. Pre-order it here.

‘KOMPROMAT’ track list:
1. A Steady Hand
2. Desire Is A Mess
3. Dig In
5. Patience Is A Virtue
6. Man of Conviction
7. New Geography
8. The Truth
9. Eyes to the Left (ft. Anika)

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.