DARK MORPH- Jónsi + CM von Hausswolff release ‘Dark Morph II’ today via Anna von Hausswolff’s label Pomperipossa + New video by Embryoroom

May 1, 2020


– Carl Michael von Hausswolff and Jónsi collaboration
– LP ‘Dark Morph II’ released today on Pomperipossa Records
– New video for “Dark Wave” by Embryoroom

Dark Morph is a collaboration between sound and visual artists Carl Michael von Hausswolff and Jón Þór “Jónsi” Birgisson. Today they release LP ‘Dark Morph II’ via Pomperipossa Records – the Swedish record label led by von Hausswolff’s daughter, Anna von Hausswolff. The release is celebrated with a new video created by multidiscipline artist Edward Quist, also known as Embryoroom.

The new video accompanies track “Dark Wave”, where recordings of whales and shrimp in the Pacific Ocean and distorted vocals are set to a hypnotic beat. Embryroroom explains the video stating: “Dark Wave opens with a submerged biomass as it is scanned through a cathode ray tube, the biological and electronic meet. Then a human face resembling an ancient bust cries out when it’s infected with tendrils of nuero-webbing. As environmental contamination spreads, an avatar of human fate is caught in an unrelenting loop. This is an animated painting in the age of quarantine amid nature’s viral rebellion.”

Dark Morph II’ was made using ocean recordings and is dedicated to the oceans of planet earth and to the lifeforms that live in and around them, with the duo stating: “The exploitation of the oceans, in conjunction with the heavy pollution (from plastic waste to nuclear radio-activity) has to stop, and be replaced by collaborative manners co-operating with all life on or globe.” 
Carl Michael von Hausswolff is a renowned artist, active in the art and music world with solo and collaborative projects for many years, and Jónsi’s work in the Icelandic group Sigur Rós, as well as his collaboration with composer Alex Somers, is recognised across the globe. Dark Morph formed when the two artists met aboard the M/Y Dardanella ship in Fiji invited by TBA21–Academy in 2018. The ship is a creative platform equipped with sound and video recording systems, and the result of the duo’s first voyage was released in May 2019 at the Biennale di Venezia. This second album consists of material recorded in Fiji and Tonga and was produced and mixed in GeeJam Studios in Jamaica in January 2019. 
Side X is one 20-minute composition entitled ‘Dive-In’ – a drone soundtrack made to accompany a video installation by the Danish art collective SUPERFLEX and was premiered in Palm Springs later last year. Side Y opens with the more danceable ‘Dark Wave,’and third piece, ‘Humpback Whale Choir,’ which uses whale-song recorded with hydrophone microphones by Francesca Thyssen-Bornemisza assisted by Dark Morph in August 2019. 
‘Dark Morph II’ is available on digital download and limited edition 12” vinyl on May 1st. Listen/buy here.
‘Dark Morph II’ track list:
Dive In (19:56)
Humpback Whale Choir (8:07)
Dark Wave (3:51)

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.