ANNIE TAYLOR share ‘TELEPHONE’, debut album out 4th September via TAXI GAUCHE RECORDS

May 27, 2020
Photo by Tatjana Rüegsegger 


Swiss  four-piece share new track ‘Telephone’

Debut album Sweet Mortality due September 4th via Taxi Gauche Records

After releasing their anthemic single ‘A Thousand Times’ back in February, Zurich based psych-garage four-piece Annie Taylor are back with a new high-voltage single called ‘Telephone’. The track is the third offering from the band’s upcoming debut album Sweet Mortality set for release on September 4th via Taxi Gauche Records.

Singer and guitarist Gini Jungi describes the song as follows: “’Telephone’. Of course it’s another love song! However, we didn’t intend to depict romantic feelings this time. This song is about being clingy and desperate before you do the transformation and get independent and give a damn.”

The video for the song was again realized by videographer Christian Taro, who also worked on the ‘A Thousand Times’ video, and encapsulates the previously mentioned independence. Long, empty roads, the rich depth of nature and spending time with your closest friends all illustrate why romantic relationships aren’t needed in order to pursue true happiness.

Switzerland’s Annie Taylor are back less than a year after the release of their debut EP ‘Not Yours!’ with their fuzzy yet acerbic debut album Sweet Mortality, out 4th September via Taxi Gauche.

Pre-order here:

The band initially came into existence in 2017 releasing two singles ‘Partner in Crime’ and ‘Wasted Youth’, before taking themselves on a tour of Italy, France and Switzerland. It was while settling down to record their debut EP ‘Not Yours!’ that the core members vocalist and guitarist Gini Jungi and bassist Michael Mutter brought on board the guitar of Tobias Arn and drums of Jan Winkler.

The addition of the two new members shifted the band’s sound away from the rock-tinged pop of their early releases, instead drenching it in a heavier psychedelic wash, gaining the band comparisons to Warpaint or early Hole, and catching the ears of The 405, LA Weekly, Soundblab and For The Rabbits. Released via Taxi Gauche Records, ‘Not Yours!’ also featured artwork created by Dominic Foster, also known for his work with The Coral.

The band decided to hole themselves up in DALA Studios for Sweet Mortality, with David Langhard (producer of psychedelic titans Klaus Johann Grobe) at the helm for the sessions. What came out of it is a record that perfectly encapsulates the band’s self description as “grunge psychedelic-rock”, whilst expanding the band’s sound into other territories. ‘A Thousand Times’ is both dreamy and biting, switching on a knife edge, whilst ‘Drive’ has a wild, galloping pace, with Mutter’s fuzzed-out bass allowing the dual guitars of Jungi and Arn to let loose. Every time it looks like a song is about to go over the brink into full wig-out, the band’s restless and sharp songwriting sensibilities cut through. It’s a record as seeped in pop as it is in psychedelia, and ends up at a beautiful mid-point.

The band also are reuniting with Dominic Foster again for their artwork, continuing a drive to work with incredible artists that has seen them partner with Kevin Högger, Bastien Bron, and David Langhard. 

Sweet Mortality is an exciting step forward from Annie Taylor, a record that not only shores up their confident sound, but also explores it further. With previous live dates alongside L.A.WITCH, Sunflower Bean, Sugar Candy Mountain and FEWS already under their belts as well, the band are already a potent live force.

Pre-order the album here:

She Loves You No More
Where The Grass Is Greener
A Thousand Times
Made Up My Mind
Smoking Teenage Girl
17 Days
The Fool

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.