Circuit Sweet Introducing, News

Spelks release debut single The Happy Places!

April 27, 2020

Spelks launch impressive debut single  The Happy Places!

Newcastle’s Spelks are delighted to announce the release of their shimmering noise pop-inflected single, The Happy Places, which was unveiled on 24th April 2020 via Montgomery Records

The brainchild of Jonathon Sabiston (guitar, drums, bass, keys, vocals), Spelks was borne out of a desire to create a musical project without compromise, writing and recording all the parts himself. Recorded in a cramped spare room in his Newcastle based flat, The Happy Places perfectly encapsulates Spelks sparse, yet quirky, noise pop sound. 

Opening with scuzzy, discordant guitar notes and a simple, yet effective, toe tapping drum beat, The Happy Places offers an uplifting, summery charm, playfully straddling the line between the new wave pop sensibilities of Squeeze and the lo-fi alt.rock associated with acts like Surfer Blood and Cloud Nothings

Written about living with agoraphobia and anxiety, the themes contained within The Happy Places elements of which we can all relate to, and offers an uplifting message about the desire and ability we have to find hope and contentment within ourselves.

You Might Also Like

1 Comment

  • Reply Circuit Sweet – Spelks May 1, 2020 at 2:40 pm

    […] Spelks release debut single The Happy Places! […]

  • Leave a Reply

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.