News

OHMME share new single & video “Ghost”- LP ‘Fantasize Your Ghost’ is due June 5th via Joyful Noise Recordings

April 7, 2020
Photo credit: Ash Dye

OHMME

– Share new single & video “Ghost”
– New album ‘Fantasize Your Ghost’ due June 5th via Joyful Noise Recordings 

Ohmme – the Chicago-based duo of Sima Cunningham and Macie Stewart – release a new single/video “Ghost,” from their forthcoming album, Fantasize Your Ghost, out June 5th via Joyful Noise Recordings. Following lead single “3 2 4 3″,Ghost opens with sparse instrumentation, blooming with layered vocals and heavy, experimental guitar licks. Its colorful accompanying video, directed, shot, and edited by Austin Vesely, features the band and shiny, dancing ghosts.

“We’d been kicking around the idea of doing something like the Pop Musik video by M but darker,” says the band. “There’s a lot of darkness these days but it’s important to keep dancing. Austin said, ‘fancy ghosts’ and ‘can I press order on these California King satin bedsheets’ and we said ‘Yes, and YES!’”

Fantasize Your Ghost is the direct result of the band spending more time on the road than in Chicago. It’s deeply concerned with questions of the self, the future, and what home means when you’re travelling all the time. Early sketches of Fantasize Your Ghost’s tracklist were demoed at Sam Evian’s Flying Cloud Studios in upstate New York through intensely collaborative and open sessions. The album was recorded over a six day session in August 2019 at the Post Farm in southern Wisconsin with journeyman producer Chris Cohen.  

Though 2018’s Parts showcased their wildly burgeoning  influences and talents, Fantasize Your Ghost captures the astounding magnetism and ferocity of their live show.  It encapsulates the thrilling and sometimes terrifying joy of moving forward even if you don’t know where you’re going. It’s an album that asks necessary questions: When life demands a crossroads, what version of yourself are you going to pursue? What part of yourself will you feed and let flourish and what do you have to let go of? This is a record of strength, of best friends believing in each other. Unapologetic and brave, Ohmme are ready to figure it all out together. 

Additionally, Ohmme share rescheduled North American tour dates. Following their summer headlining tour, they’ll support Waxahatchee. A full list of dates can be found below and tickets are on sale now. 

Ohmme Tour Dates
Fri. June 5 – Los Angeles, CA @ Zebulon – Record Release Show *
Sat. June 6 – Oakland, CA @ Crystal Cavern *
Sun. June 7 – Santa Cruz, CA @ Atrium at The Catalyst *
Mon. June 8 – Sacramento, CA @ Harlow’s *
Tue. June 9 – Sisters, OR @ The Suttle Lodge *
Thu. June 11 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir Lounge *
Fri. June 12 – Seattle, WA @ Barboza *
Sat. June 13 – Spokane, WA @ Lucky You (Upstairs) *
Sun. June 14 – Boise, ID @ The Olympic *
Mon. June 15 – Reno, NV @ Holland Project
Tue. June 16 – Bolinas, CA @ Gospel Flat Farmstand *
Sat. Aug. 8 – Ripon, WI @ Avrom Farm Party
Sun. Sept. 27 – Austin, TX @ Scholz Garten %
Mon. Sept. 28 – Houston, TX @ Satellite %
Tue. Sept. 29 – Atlanta, GA @ Terminal West %
Thu. Oct. 1 – Nashville, TN @ Exit In %
Fri. Oct. 2 – Saxapahaw, NC @ Haw River Ballroom %
Sun. Oct. 4 – Washington, DC @ Lincoln Theatre %
Mon. Oct. 5 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer %
Tue. Oct. 6 – Brooklyn, NY @ Elsewhere %
Thu. Oct. 8 – Winooski, VT @ Monkey House
Fri. Oct. 9 – Providence, RI @ Columbus Theatre %
Sat. Oct. 10 – Holyoke, MA @ Gateway City Arts %
Mon. Oct. 12 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Rex Theater %
Tue. Oct. 13 – Detroit, M @ MOCAD %
Thu. Oct. 15 – Minneapolis, MN @ Cedar Cultural Center %
Fri. Oct. 16 – Omaha, NE @ The Waiting Room %
Sat. Oct. 17 – Maquoketa, IA @ Codfish Hollow Barn %
Sun. Oct. 18 – Madison, WI @ Majestic Theatre %
* = w/ V. V. Lightbody
% = w/ Waxahatchee

Fantasize Your Ghost tracklist:
1. Flood Your Gut
2. Selling Candy
3. Ghost
4. The Limit
5. Spell It Out
6. Twitch
7. 3 2 4 3
8. Some Kind of Calm
9. Sturgeon Moon
10. After All

https://ohmmemusic.com/


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.