Gaz Coombes & Danny Goffey’s The Hotrats reveal homemade music video for Kelis’ ‘Milkshake’ cover

April 19, 2020

Gaz Coombes & Danny Goffey’s The Hotrats

Reveal homemade video for new cover of Kelis’ ‘Milkshake’

Watch Here

Tenth anniversary release of Nigel Godrich-produced covers album ‘Turn Ons’

‘Turn Ons – 10th Anniversary Edition’ 3CD/DVD box set due June 19th

Pre-Order Here

In 2010, one half of Britain’s much loved pop rock combo Supergrass, Gaz Coombes and Danny Goffey teamed with world-renowned producer Nigel Godrich to bring you The Hotrats. 

With the original intention of diving into the studio for some light relief, the spontaneous sessions soon became ‘Turn Ons’ – Gaz & Danny’s own ‘Pin Ups’ style covers record of classic songs, born out of a true love and respect for their rock heroes. 

Released as a highly limited run, ‘Turn Ons’ was a 12-track doff of the cap to musical forefathers including Syd Barrett, Lou Reed, Roxy Music, David Bowie and The Sex Pistols, and has remained an out of print record shop rarity for a decade.

Fast forward ten years to 2020 and Coombes, Goffey and Godrich have reconvened to celebrate the tenth anniversary of this forgotten classic with a new offering; a psychedelic twist on the Kelis classic, ‘Milkshake’. Listen HERE.

Described as “deeply odd and wholly wonderful” by the Sunday Times Culture, and simply “magnificent” by the Guardian, The Hotrats have today shared a visual accompaniment to ‘Milkshake’, created and edited by Gaz Coombes at home under lockdown. Watch HERE.

Gaz explains: “The response to our cover of Milkshake has been brilliant and we’d like to thank Kelis for not suing us! Although it’s doubtful she knows who we are, so we’re all good there I guess. Anyway it was made with love and respect so we’re happy it’s brought a little bit of light to everyone right now.

We decided to make something visual and fun to go with our version of Milkshake & thought it’d be cool to use this time during lockdown to put a video together.

We wanted to create a snapshot of the mad times we had as the Hotrats… a little glimpse behind the scenes. Danny and I worked remotely, hunted down the footage and sent clips and images between each other for a day or two. I also unearthed some surreal old stock footage and lots of cool fan videos from some of those bonkers gigs we did. Then it was just a case of capturing the energy in an edit.

It’s our little lockdown gift of milky love to everyone.”

The tenth anniversary of ‘Turn Ons’ follows hot on the heels of Supergrass’ triumphant reunion year marking the 25th anniversary of their chart-topping debut album ‘I Should Coco’, Supergrass’ reunion tour has catapulted them back into the hearts and minds of fans and critics alike, The Guardian found “Supergrass still in possession of an uncommon gift: to rock with a joyousness that makes your face ache from smiling”.

Outside of Supergrass the pair have collectively released a number of solo records, including Gaz Coombes’ 2015 Mercury Prize-shortlisted ‘Matador’ and 2018’s UK top 20 album ‘World’s Strongest Man’. Under his Vangoffey moniker, Danny Goffey has also seen critical acclaim for two full length solo records, with his songwriting described as “pop-etched, acerbic and deeply english” by Clash Magazine.

A special tenth anniversary 3CD/DVD reissue ‘Turn Ons – 10th Anniversary Edition’ will be released June 19th via Edsel Records. With the addition of bonus tracks, instrumentals and live recordings, fans can uncover this one-off project step by step. 

‘Turn Ons’ will also be released on a double 10” hot pink vinyl pressing exclusively for Record Store Day 2020, June 20th. Pre-order ‘Turn Ons – 10th Anniversary Edition’ HERE.


1. I Can’t Stand It (The Velvet Underground)

2. Big Sky (The Kinks)

3. The Crystal Ship (The Doors)

4. (You Gotta) Fight For Your Right (To Party!) (Beastie Boys)

5. Damaged Goods (Gang Of Four)

6. Love Is The Drug (Roxy Music)

7. Bike (Pink Floyd)

8. Pump It Up (Elvis Costello)

9. The Lovecats (The Cure)

10. Queen Bitch (David Bowie)

11. E.M.I (Sex Pistols)

12. Up The Junction (Squeeze)


13. Mirror In The Bathroom (The Beat)

14.  West End Girls (Pet Shop Boys)

15. Drive My Car (The Beatles)

16. Drive My Car (Alternate Mix)

17. Milkshake (Kelis)



1. Introduction

2. I Can’t Stand It

3. Damaged Goods

4. (You Gotta) Fight For Your Right (To Party!)

5. The Crystal Ship

6. Pump It Up

7. Love Is The Drug

8. Big Sky

9. Queen Bitch

10. Bike

11. Mirror In The Bathroom

12. E.M.I.

13. The Lovecats

14. Drive My Car

15. Caught By The Fuzz


16. Can’t Stand It

17. Mirror In The Bathroom 

18. E.M.I.


1. I Can’t Stand It (Instrumental)

2. Big Sky (Instrumental)

3. The Crystal Shop (Instrumental)

4. (You Gotta) Fight For Your Right (To Party!) (Instrumental)

5. Damaged Goods (Instrumental)

6. Love Is The Drug (Instrumental)

7. Bike (Instrumental)

8. Pump It Up (Instrumental)

9. The Lovecats (Instrumental)

10. Queen Bitch (Instrumental)

11. Up The Junction (Instrumental)

12. Mirror In The Bathroom (Instrumental)

13. Milkshake (Instrumental)

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.