FRAN LOBO shares new EP title-track “Brave”- EP due June 19th via Slow Dance Records

April 21, 2020
Photo credit: El Hardwick


– Shares new EP title-track “Brave
– EP due June 19th via Slow Dance Records

After recently announcing her new EP ‘Brave‘ is due June 19th via Slow Dance Records, London-based artist Fran Lobo is sharing the title track from the record. 

Speaking about the new single, Fran Lobo said “This was a mantra to myself, to stay Brave because there is no other choice in the face of our world and diminishing relationships. The world moves on and we have no choice but to move with it. It is also a comment on the intense expectations on women; what to be and what not to be. With everything going on at the moment, I wanted to dedicate this track to key workers and those working hard to keep us safe. My Dad works in a care home where there has been little PPE and going to work has felt like an everyday risk, to honour the brave people working in these conditions, I’m donating 50% of band camp revenue to Age UK.”

Fran Lobo is a singer, songwriter, producer, DJ, choral composer and sound artist from North East London. Inspired by both orchestral music and the London club scene, ‘Brave‘ mixes human sound (choral singing, vocals, clarinet, piano) with machines (drum machines, analogue synthesisers) and sees how the two can weave in and out of one another, subverting expectations of style. 

As a choral and music workshop leader, Lobo has been commissioned to work with several prestigious London choirs including conducting the choir for Floating Points‘ sold-out album launch and arranging pieces of original music for all female Deep Throat Choir and LIPS choir in London.

Brave is a dramatic nightmare dream about addiction, reclaiming identity and processing grief: employing rare analogue drum machines and synthesizers, field recordings, live band, choirs and orchestral instruments. Recorded between Stereloab’s Andy Ramsay’s studio in South London (King Krule, Mount Kimbie) and Massive Attack’s 3D’s studio in Bristol with Bruno Ellingham. The EP was mixed by Jimmy Robertson and mastered by Christian Wright at Abbey Road.

In her own words, Fran Lobo said “This EP is about staying brave despite having your heart torn apart and the pressure you feel as a woman to keep a brave face and to not break down, or show emotion, or ‘be cool’ when in fact breaking down and opening up is the answer to everything.”

This EP celebrates the triumph at the other end of a storm. It speaks about overcoming addiction, loss and trauma whilst also acknowledging the pressure on women today to be seen as ‘Brave‘ and exploring the beauty of breaking down and rebuilding again rather than being fearful of it. It is an expression of the many sides of being a ‘woman’ whilst playing with the idea of dream vs. reality…A collaborator in the bands UNKLE and Deep Throat Choir, and previous shows including supporting Matthew Herbert, Okay Kaya & Reykjavikurdaetur, Fran is set to tour later this year. 

Brave EP tracklist:
1. Give Me Something
2. Monster
3. Brave
4. Burning (It Feels Like)
5. Not Chasing


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.