CHOIR BOY share new single “Sweet Candy”- Album ‘Gathering Swans’ out May 8th via Dais

April 23, 2020
Photo credit: 
Karen Judith Davis


– Share new single “Sweet Candy”
– New album ‘Gathering Swans’
  out May 8th on DAIS

Choir Boy have released a new single from their forthcoming album ‘Gathering Swans’ which is set for release on May 8th via DAIS.

“Sweet Candy” expresses the sugar cravings and lovesickness of someone who denies themselves the excitement and bliss of romantic fulfilment” explains Choir Boy frontman Adam Klopp. “They’ve had a taste, but have opted for a sugar free diet.”

“Leading up to recording, we were struggling with the songs structure and melodic arrangements. So on the first day working on it in the studio, Michael and I took some acid hoping it would soften our biases. Mid way through the day I began imagining the song as a neighborhood in a 1950’s musical. When the instrumentation sounded natural to me, it felt like the characters were going about their business on a calm Saturday morning, chiming in to the neighbourhood gossip when they saw fit. “Oh it’s true, I heard that too.” Chaz and Jeff would play around with the beat and instrumentation and every 10 minutes Michael and I would return from space with a twinkly piano or a character from our play. At some point, our friend Bly (who recorded and produced the record) began producing a meal of tomato sauce and garlic bread. The sauce was fragrant and seemed to take forever to cook. In the middle of someones take, the toaster oven bell dinged a great ding. “Someone’s cooking something good!” I thought. So we incorporated the bell sound in the drums. The day continued like that with many ideas tip-toeing the line between rotten and wrong. Finally, after an exhausting day of stimulating playtime, we drank some fancy bottled water and went home.”

“Sweet Candy” is the fourth glimpse at the forthcoming new album, full of sardonic, self-effacing romantic pop gems. It following recent single “Toxic Eye,” the equally wry single “Complainer” and last year’s “Nites Like This”.

Choir Boy“, initially intended as an insult, was what the kids called singer/songwriter Adam Klopp in his early teens when he fronted bands in Cleveland, Ohio. The label seemed fair and fitting in a way, given Klopp’s religious upbringing and angelic voice. After high school, Adam left Ohio for college in Utah. While his career as a student would prove short-lived, he integrated into Provo and Salt Lake City’s underground music and art scenes, left religion behind and called his new band Choir Boy.

Choir Boy debuted with the warmly received album ‘Passive With Desire’ in 2016, drawing comparisons to Scott Walker, Kate Bush and Talk Talk. After signing to Dais Records, they followed up with the 2018 single, “Sunday Light” and a lovingly reissue of the debut album on vinyl and CD. Recently, Klopp has filled out the band with a permanent lineup: Chaz Costello on bass, saxophonist / keyboardist Jeff Kleinman and guitarist Michael Paulsen. Each member has brought their unique influences to the fold, helping to develop a Choir Boy that is subtly more dynamic, where the guitar and bass work add a little post-punk grit owing to Costello and Paulsen, while ’80s-tinged swing is maintained by Kleinman’s bright sax. 

The new dynamism beams on ‘Gathering Swans’Choir Boy‘s melancholy tenderness springs forth naturally and distinctively, while pulling from the familiar and nostalgic styles of pop trailblazers like Bryan Ferry with all the funkiness of The Cleaners from Venus. Klopp’s lyrics and earnest, ever-angelic voice face up honestly to every emotion, but particularly those that are hard to name. Creative, sincere, passionate and glaring with intention, ‘Gathering Swans’ paints a bright, hopeful, and deeply heartfelt image with a little humour along the way. 

‘Gathering Swans’ will be released on May 8th via DAIS. Pre-order it at

‘Gathering Swans’ track list:
1. It’s Over
2. Toxic Eye
3. Complainer
4. Nites Like This
5. St. Angela Merici
6. Sweet Candy
7. Shatter
8. Eat The Frog
9. Happy to be Bad
10. Gathering Swans

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.