Synth-punk four-piece ES share ‘HIDDEN TRACK’ from upcoming debut album, out via UPSET THE RHYTHM

March 11, 2020
Photo by Max Warren


London synth-punks share new song ‘Hidden Track’

Debut album Less of Everything out via Upset the Rhythm on 3rd April

London synth punk four-piece Es have today shared ‘Hidden Track‘, the second single from their upcoming debut album Less of Everything, set for release on 3rd April via Upset The Rhythm. Pre-order the album here:

“Hidden Track’ is a song that took a long time to complete” explains vocalist Maria Cecilia Tedemalm. “The music was entirely realised at least a year before the lyrics were written. Lyrically the chorus is a direct nod to the classic Germs song “What We Do Is Secret”; however thematically ‘Hidden Track’ explores the inner workings of relational drama. A constant push pull to fully understand and learn about the other person without surrendering yourself in the process.” 

She continues: “The themes in this track propel the emotional life of the album as a whole, which explores the desire and impossibility to know or be known by others and that at times we are even strangers to ourselves. As a band, we’ve always been influenced by psychoanalytic literature, including our name, Es, which is a Freudian term for the most buried and untethered parts of one’s psyche. With several tracks on the album, including Hidden Track, through both the lyrics as well as the musical dynamics we try to bring a sense of this uncanny to the fore.

Live dates

Saturday 4th April – Flashback Records, London

The title of Es’ first full length LP could be interpreted as a manifesto pledge, an outright demand or a purely literal sonic descriptor of the London quartet’s glacial form of punk rock music. This tension between intent and interpretation has been a fundamental element of the group’s output from their formation.

Es is Maria Cecilia Tedemalm (vocals), Katy Cotterell (bass), Tamsin M. Leach (drums) and Flora Watters (keyboards). Their 2016 debut EP, ‘Object Relations’, released on influential London punk label La Vida Es Un Mus, was described as “mutant synth-punk for our dystopian present” (Jess Skolnik, Bandcamp, Pitchfork). The band has since become a vital presence in London’s underground DIY music scene, as well as having toured the UK with the Thurston Moore Group in 2017.

After a period with members split between Glasgow and London, Es recorded Less of Everything with Lindsay Corstorphine (Sauna Youth, Primitive Parts) in Tottenham in 2019. As in ‘Object Relations’, the dynamic between Cotterell’s bass and Watters’ keyboard is at the heart of Less of Everything’s sound: intertwining sub-zero melodies, gothic anarcho-punk influences (think KUKL, MALARIA, X-MAL DEUTSCHLAND) and some kind of entirely unlocatable aquatic component. When combined with Leach’s precise drumming, the outcome is original and immediately recognisable. Es are a group who know how to leave space, how to strive for minimalism without sacrificing aggression or dynamism.

This dynamic provides the perfect backdrop for Tedemalm’s relentless, pointed vocal style. While comparable ‘cold’ sounding groups might affect an impersonal, safer mode of lyrical or vocal detachment, Tedemalm’s strategy is to “push the lyrics as far as I can thematically until they become absurd … overly dramatic … while still being sincere in the feeling they’re trying to invoke. I try to apply as much emotion as I can.” The result is something intense but nuanced, confrontational but complex.

Less of Everything will be released on April 3rd 2020 on Upset The Rhythm.


Off The Rails
Unsavoury Union
Kingdom Come
Hidden Track

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.