Feature, News

Squid Release New Single ‘Sludge’ + Announce Signing to Warp Records

March 24, 2020
Photo Credit: Machine Operated

Squid Release New Single ‘Sludge’
Announce Signing to Warp Records

Squid are back with their first music of 2020, their widescreen new single ‘Sludge’ also marks the band’s first release on Warp Records since signing in late 2019.

Richly percussive and sonically evolving, on ‘Sludge’ the quintet not only open up their sound, but they do so without abandoning the experimentation and playfulness that made them such an exciting prospect when they burst on the scene just over a year ago.

Thematically, Squid’s previous releases have been more character driven – songs like ‘The Cleaner’, ‘Houseplants’ and ‘Match Bet’ all saw Squid looking at the people around them and how the world affected them – but on ‘Sludge’ we see the band in a more introspective state of mind; simultaneously seeking a wider commentary, but approaching it with an idiosyncratic precision and a playfulness that doesn’t allow it to become morose.

The musical thrust of ‘Sludge’ was initially conceived during a soundcheck whilst supporting seminal post-punk group Wire. For a band who have built so much of their reputation on their impeccable musical taste and incendiary live shows, it is a fitting way to begin this new chapter. The track sees the band team up again with recently-awarded ‘Producer Of The Year’ Dan Carey.

Squid rounded off a hugely successful 2019 with the news of their inclusion on BBC’s prestigious ‘Sound Of 2020’ longlist, their forthcoming UK tour has now completely sold out.

Squid are in a constant, energetic state of evolution which is reflected in the intense and infectious spectrum of sound contained in their propulsive songs. This wild and restless creativity points the way forward for a band with no limits on what they might do next. Keep an ear out for more releases due later this year. 

Formed in Brighton, Squid is the brainchild of: Louis Borlase (Guitars & Vocals), Ollie Judge (Drums & Lead Vocals), Arthur Leadbetter (Keyboards, Strings, Percussion), Laurie Nankivell (Bass & Brass) and Anton Pearson (Guitars & Vocals).


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.