News

Gengahr announce headline UK tour for October 2020

March 16, 2020
Gengahr – photo credit Dave East

GENGAHR
Announce headline UK tour for October 2020
 
Announce festival appearances over the summer
 
New album, Sanctuary, out now – buy / stream here

Following a packed UK tour last month to celebrate the release of their new album, SanctuaryGengahr have now announced further UK live dates for October 2020. The 14 date tour will take them to cities they missed out on last month, including Bath, Norwich and Liverpool. The experimental alt-pop band, currently on tour in Australia, will also be appearing at various festivals over the summer including All Points EastCamp BestivalBoardmasters110 Above and Lost Village. Full live dates are listed below and tickets are available via https://www.gengahr.com/tour-dates.  
 
Expansive and ambitious, Sanctuary has received huge support from BBC 6 Music, Beats 1 and from Greg James, Annie Mac and Jack Saunders at BBC Radio 1, which playlisted the single, “Heavenly Maybe”. A DIY triumph, it welcomes old friend Jack Steadman of Bombay Bicycle Club as producer, adding his distinct brand of symphonic sparkle to the North London band’s complex, layered sound and pushing them further into all-out pop territory. Born of an epic journey and taking inspiration from Homer’s Odyssey, the follow-up to their acclaimed 2015 debut A Dream Outside and 2018’s Where Wildness Grows sees songwriter Felix tapping into personal pain but coming out fighting.
 
Sanctuary is vibrant, intoxicating, intimate and alive; the product of friends having a good time and seizing control of their own destiny. It is a heartfelt, sophisticated body of work that runs the full gamut of human feeling, with a positive ending in the form of the beautiful, twinkling “Moonlight” – a harmonious conclusion of unison and togetherness, hinting at a bright future.

Gengahr live dates:

Fri 22 May    UK                 London                All Points East
Sun 24 May  UK                 Exeter                 Poltimore Festival
Fri 31 Jul       UK                 The Isle of Wight            Ventnor Festival
Sat 01 Aug    UK                 Lulworth Castle   Camp Bestival
Sun 02 Aug   UK                 Steventon            Truck Festival
Sat 08 Aug    UK                 Newquay             Boardmasters Festival
Fri 14 Aug     UK                 Atherstone          110 Above Festival
Sat 29 Aug    UK                 Norton Disney     Lost Village Festival

Headline tour:
Sat 10 Oct    UK                 Truro                   The Old Bakery
Sun 11 Oct   UK                 Exeter                 Lemon Grove
Mon 12 Oct  UK                 Bath                     Komedia
Tue 13 Oct   UK                 Southampton       Joiners
Wed 14 Oct  UK                 Reading               Sub89
Thu 15 Oct   UK                 Norwich               Waterfront
Fri 16 Oct     UK                 Leicester             O2 Academy 2
Mon 19 Oct  UK                 Liverpool             Zanzibar
Tue 20 Oct   UK                 Birmingham         Institute 3
Wed 21 Oct  UK                 Sheffield              Foundry
Thu 22 Oct   UK                 Newcastle           Riverside
Fri 23 Oct     UK                 Hull                      The Welly: One
Sat 24 Oct    UK                 Huddersfield        Parish

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.