ANNIE TAYLOR Share Stunning Visuals For ‘A Thousand Times’ | Debut album Sweet Mortality due May 8th via Taxi Gauche Records

March 14, 2020
Photo by Tatjana Rüegsegger 


Swiss four-piece share stunning visuals for ‘A Thousand Times’

Debut album Sweet Mortality due May 8th via Taxi Gauche Records

Swiss four-piece Annie Taylor return less than a year after their first EP ‘Not Yours!’ with the announcement of their debut album Sweet Mortality, out 8th May via Taxi Gauche Records.

Now they release the stunning visuals for ‘A Thousand Times‘, which beautifully frames the tracks dreamy vocals and crunchy guitars . Pre-order Sweet Mortality here:

“The song transports a feeling of optimistic melancholy and director Sven Probst and videographer Christian “Taro” Müller managed to capture said mood in our new video,” the band explain. “Spending time with your best buddies, driving through nothingness and letting off steam while playing live was the outcome. With this video we wanted to bridge the gap between being stuck in everyday life and the uncertainty of what might come next. The excitement about the unknown so to speak. After all, this is what makes life exciting.”

Switzerland’s Annie Taylor are back less than a year after the release of their debut EP ‘Not Yours!’ with their fuzzy yet acerbic debut album Sweet Mortality, out 8th May via Taxi Gauche. Pre-order here:

The band initially came into existence in 2017 releasing two singles ‘Partner in Crime’ and ‘Wasted Youth’, before taking themselves on a tour of Italy, France and Switzerland. It was while settling down to record their debut EP ‘Not Yours!’ that the core members vocalist and guitarist Gini Jungi and bassist Michael Mutter brought on board the guitar of Tobias Arn and drums of Jan Winkler.

The addition of the two new members shifted the band’s sound away from the rock-tinged pop of their early releases, instead drenching it in a heavier psychedelic wash, gaining the band comparisons to Warpaint or early Hole, and catching the ears of The 405, Soundblab and For The Rabbits. Released via Taxi Gauche Records, ‘Not Yours!’ also featured artwork created by Dominic Foster, also known for his work with The Coral.

The band decided to hole themselves up in DALA Studios for Sweet Mortality, with David Langhard (producer of psychedelic titans Klaus Johann Grobe) at the helm for the sessions. What came out of it is a record that perfectly encapsulates the band’s self description as “grunge psychedelic-rock”, whilst expanding the band’s sound into other territories. ‘A Thousand Times’ is both dreamy and biting, switching on a knife edge, whilst ‘Drive’ has a wild, galloping pace, with Mutter’s fuzzed-out bass allowing the dual guitars of Jungi and Arn to let loose. Every time it looks like a song is about to go over the brink into full wig-out, the band’s restless and sharp songwriting sensibilities cut through. It’s a record as seeped in pop as it is in psychedelia, and ends up at a beautiful mid-point.

The band also are reuniting with Dominic Foster again for their artwork, continuing a drive to work with incredible artists that has seen them partner with Kevin Högger, Bastien Bron, and David Langhard. 

Sweet Mortality is an exciting step forward from Annie Taylor, a record that not only shores up their confident sound, but also explores it further. With previous live dates alongside L.A.WITCH, Sunflower Bean, Sugar Candy Mountain and FEWS already under their belts as well, the band are already a potent live force.

Pre-order the album here:

She Loves You No More
Where The Grass Is Greener
A Thousand Times
Made Up My Mind
Smoking Teenage Girl
17 Days
The Fool

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.