EZRA FURMAN shares video for ‘Every Feeling’, taken from “Sex Education OST”, out now on Bella Union

February 25, 2020
Photo credit: James Emmerman

Shares video for ‘Every Feeling’

 Sex Education OST out now digitally via Bella Union
(Available physically on April 24th)

Ezra Furman presents a video for “Every Feeling” a standout track from Sex Education OST, released digitally last month via Bella Union (CDs and vinyl will be available April 24th). “Every Feeling” was inspired by a bad bout of depression and has an up-all-night, emotionally exhausted feel to it. The video, created by Sivan Kidron, is brightly coloured and entirely animated.

“Kidron and I talked about that all-nighter feeling and the feeling like you’re already gone. That’s why we wanted the video to be full of empty hotel rooms, cigarettes still burning, like you’ve just left leaving everything unfinished because you just need to keep moving,” says Furman. “Our dancing blowing flailing inflatable tube man is sort of the avatar for me at my most emotionally vulnerable. I love these images and the way Sivan brings them across, like we’re almost dreaming, like how the world feels when you’re really exhausted, like there are no people left in it, like you’re at the mercy of the wild wind.”

“When I first listened to the song, I immediately connected with it,”
 says Kidron. “It’s about going through everything and just feeling tired and empty, and to me it sounded like a mantra that is saying, in the end underneath all these tumultuous emotional layers there is pure love. The thought of how there is no actual empty space if you take in mind light and air made me play with the idea of a figure that is full of air, like an inflatable tube man. Also as humans, there is always something in us even when we feel empty, and the tube man kind of illustrates that. Lacking any ability to resist, it dances so totally that it seems completely open and free, as if it embraces this emptiness and celebrates it.” 

UK Live Dates:
 2nd May – Leeds, UK – Live At Leeds
3rd May – Glasgow, UK – Stag & Dagger
4th May – Birmingham, UK – The Mill
5th May – Brighton, UK – St Georges Church

Sex Education is about Otis Milburn, a socially awkward high school student who lives with his sex therapist mother, Jean (played by Gillian Anderson). Season 1 shows Otis and his friend Maeve Wiley setting up a sex clinic at school to capitalize on his intuitive talent for sex advice. The second season, which is now streaming, follows late bloomer Otis trying to master his newly discovered sexual urges in order to progress with his girlfriend Ola while  also juggling his now strained relationship with Maeve. Meanwhile, Moordale Secondary is in the throes of a Chlamydia outbreak, highlighting the need for better sex education at the school.

The Sex Education Original Soundtrack gathers the original songs  Furman composed for both series alongside some of Furman’s older songs that were played in the show. Lining up alongside older cover versions of LCD Soundsystem’s  “I Can Change”  and Melanie’s “The Good Book,” there is a new rendition of “Devil Or Angel”, The Clovers’ doo-wop jewel from 1956.

Furman and her band recorded the new songs in between sessions for the exhilarating Twelve Nudes, released by Bella Union in 2019.

Sex Education OST tracklist:

1. I’m Coming Clean
2. Love You So Bad
3. Every Feeling
4. Dr Jekyl & Mr Hyde
5. Care
6. Restless Year
7. Early Rain
8. La Madrugada
9. I Can Change
10. Amateur
11. My Zero
12. The Good Book
13. Body Was Made
14. If Only The Wind
15. Can I Sleep In Your Brain
16. Devil Or Angel
17. At The Bottom Of The Ocean
18. Splash Of Light
19. The Queen Of Hearts

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.