Eve Owen Announces Debut Album ‘Don’t Let The Ink Dry’ Via 37d03d Records

January 29, 2020





Eve Owen today announced her debut album Don’t Let The Ink Dry—produced by The National’s Aaron Dessner—will be released on 8th May 2020, via 37d03d Records. She has also shared her sweeping, evocative new single “So Still For You,” which can be heard now via its video directed by Owen’s sister and frequent collaborator, Hannah. “‘So Still For You’ is about how fleeting love can be, but how permanent words are,” explains Owen. “By sharing my love in a song, it lasts forever.” Of the video, Hannah Owen says, “We had a clear idea of what the song meant to us but we were equally really in love with the idea of seeing what came naturally once a camera was put in front of Eve. It’s so lovely to work as a two-person team. Every idea is valid and a strong contender—we can just play and follow whatever feels fun. The song is led by a delicate balance of vulnerability and wild power. I think for the video we just wanted to explore both themes honestly and see where it led us visually.” Don’t Let The Ink Dry is now available for pre-order.

“So Still For You” follows Owen’s debut single (and additional Don’t Let The Ink Dry track) “She Says,” released in late November. Owen—who has performed with The National multiple times, including on Jimmy Kimmel Live, in addition to lending vocals to their recent LP, I Am Easy To Find—has also announced a run of UK dates including Servant Jazz Quarters (with Matilda Mann), The Great Escape, Deer Shed and Live At Leeds.

Don’t Let the Ink Dry is a work of raw sensitivity and uncontained imagination, brought to life over the course of three transformative years. During that time, the 20-year-old Owen spent her summer holidays writing and recording in New York with Dessner, immersing herself in a creative exploration that provided welcome refuge from her sometimes-troubled school life. As she discovered an entirely new sense of freedom and belonging, Owen devised a sonic language all her own: frenetic yet delicate, mercurial yet nuanced enough to capture the most ephemeral of feelings.

Produced by Dessner at Long Pond Studio (a converted barn and old farmhouse deep in the Hudson Valley), Don’t Let the Ink Dry finds Owen embracing her affinity for folk music while pursuing the endless possibilities in electronic experimentation. With the help of musicians like multi-instrumentalist Rob Moose (Bon Iver, Perfume Genius) and pianist Thomas Bartlett (aka Doveman, who’s played with David Byrne, St. Vincent, and Father John Misty, among others), she and Dessner arrived at a detailed but deliberately wayward sound. 

Working from an abundant batch of songs Owen had sketched over the years, the two collaborators dreamed up their kaleidoscopic sonic palette by espousing an unbridled playfulness—an element evident in such experiments as recording the whir of a washing machine, then using that sample as the foundation for one of the album’s outtakes. “What I enjoyed most was that there were no rules,” says Owen. “I could say or do whatever I wanted without feeling judged, which is the most wonderful feeling when you’re working creatively with someone.” Dessner adds, “We ultimately recorded more than 40 songs over three years, and this first album feels like a collection of them. I enjoyed the process immensely. We felt free to imagine and chase whatever sounds or arrangements inspired us. In the middle of that time, she helped me make a National song called ‘Where Is Her Head,’ which she fearlessly sang lead on. There’s so much Eve is capable of and I’m grateful to know her.” With Owen playing guitar and Omnichord and Dessner handling a variety of instruments (guitars, piano, bass, synths), that lack of restraint imbues Don’t Let The Ink Dry with a thrilling volatility. 

In choosing the title for her debut, Owen drew inspiration from a bit of instruction given in a recent screenprinting class. “It’s got to do with impermanence versus permanence,” she says. “I really like the idea that you can go through all these different changes in your life, but the root of who you are will always stay the same.” And as Don’t Let The Ink Dry gets intensely candid about her struggles with anxiety and alienation, the album reveals a profound truth about vulnerability’s role in self-preservation. “I’ve always trusted people immediately with no question, but when you do come across the bullies, it reminds you that not everyone should have all that knowledge and insight into your insecurities,” Owen says. “The odd thing about Hudson was that it was the first place I felt I could be honest and protected. I would love it if people listened to this album and ended up feeling the same sort of comfort in their own vulnerability.” 

Don’t Let The Ink Dry track list:

1. Tudor

2. Lover Not Today

3. Mother

4. After The Love

5. For Redemption

6. Bluebird

7. She Says

8. I Used To Dream in Colour

9. So Still For You

10. Blue Moon

11. 29 Daisy Sweetheart

12. A Lone Swan

Eve Owen tour dates:

1st February – Brussels, BE @ AB Box^

13th February – London, UK @ Servant Jazz Quarters*

2nd May – Leeds, UK @ Live at Leeds

5th May – Brooklyn, NY @ Union Pool

14th May – Brighton, UK @ The Great Escape

25th July – Topcliffe, UK @ Deer Shed Festival

^ with Geike

* with Matilda Mann

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.