Circuit Sweet Interview, Feature, Reviews

Rad Releases 19 – Reckless Yes

December 27, 2019

It’s that time once again, as the countdown to the end of 2019 rapidly approaches and we somehow end this decade- we take a personal look back on familiar names, features and musicians’ best releases of the past 12 months. In what has been another crazy year filled with plenty of highs and lows- it’s the releases that have once again pulled a lot of people through the year.

Now in it’s 9th year, we let our favourites take over the site to tell us the records that have made their end of year lists. Telling us their most loved events/gigs and what we can look forward to from them next year.

Our next take over comes from the dedicated independent label Reckless Yes. We absolutely LOVE this label and their passion for live music, new music and their plethora of talented acts. Both Pete and Sarah behind RY are a force to be reckoned with and this year has been monumental for the pair with their string of incredible releases. We hand over to the label to find out more about their very busy year in music…

Reckless Yes Rad Releases 2019

Our year at Reckless Yes has been another big one – our roster has grown, we’ve partnered with other labels, and opened a membership for next year. We’ve been able to go in harder on our commitment to being an ethical label working collaboratively with artists and now we can add to what we do with a membership behind us for 2020. Plus we’ve put out music we love, and were excited to get in other people’s ears.

We’ve had our usual handful of new artists we’ve supported this year with debut EPs from ‘lo-fi electropop heroes’ Panic Pocket, the nu-gaze woozy sounds of Japan Review, debut singles from the experimental and trailblazing Eilis Frawley, as well as the sad banger wonky pop of Captain Handsome, plus a peek at the direction Grawl!x is taking with their album due out next year with the release of single Epicene. A live highlight of the year had to be seeing them play a packed out church stage at Indietracks, everyone in the room spellbound as they delivered an emotion filled set as audience and band came together in solidarity, in love with music and the good times it gives in an increasingly shitty world.

Alongside all that we’ve given the fourth solo album from Mark Morriss (yes, he of The Bluetones) a full release and hopefully introduced his eclectic and hugely melodic work to some new folk as well as given his existing fans a long-awaited vinyl edition of Look Up. It’s been great to see his long-term fans discover new stuff on our roster too – another moment of wonderful connection.

We also made our first co-release with Last Night From Glasgow imprint Komponist – they’re a label we’ll be working a lot more with in 2020 including on our joint membership – for the first collection from the enigmatic Peace Tape. Abstract Works is a deeply experimental set, yet very accessible, as it manipulates digital and analogue sound to create immersive pieces for the listener.

And we reissued two lost albums from ‘90s noise-rock band Turkish Delight. From Boston they were a favourite of Thurston Moore and when label iheartnoise intro’d us to them a couple of years ago their albums Tommy Bell and Howcha Magowcha became firm favourites with us – we had to try and bring them to a UK audience who’d missed this cult band first time round.

Elsewhere on the roster LIINES played a full UK tour with Sleaford Mods (another live highlight!) and blasted through pretty much every major UK festival around, Bugeye joined us ahead of their album next year and released Paul Tipler-produced single Electric, while Chorusgirl and Fightmilk supported the likes of The Wedding Present and The Bluetones inbetween being nestled away working on their own new material.

Next year we grow again – we’ve launched a membership for the label and with the digital subscription at just £15 it’s a great way to discover new artists as well as support those you already love on the roster. We’ve teamed up with Last Night From Glasgow – who have run on a membership model throughout their time as a label – and there’s a joint membership option to get everything both labels release next year (currently looking like at least 10 albums, and around the same number of EPs). We think this works great for our artists, and for music fans, and we’re really excited to be trying something different in the industry – not only on our own but by finding the power in working with other like-minded indie labels. You can join our membership here (makes a great gift too!) –

We have found some time to listen to other albums though – here’s our Top Five releases for 2019 that didn’t come from our own roster.

Top 5 Releases 2019 (non-RY!)

1. Pom Poko – Birthday (Bella Union)

2. Domiciles – This Is Not A Zen Garden (Last Night From Glasgow)

3. Kim Gordon – No Home Record (Matador)

4. Jemma Freeman and The Cosmic Something – Oh Really, What’s That Then? (Trapped Animal)

5. WaqWaq Kingdom – Essake Hoisa (Phantom Limb)

Our ones to watch next year are with us – Eilis Frawley is doing something absolutely stunning with her mix of rhythm, samples, and spoken word and we can’t wait for the EP to be unleashed.

We’re also going to be picking up the angular noise-rock mantle left by Cable with a debut release from GodNo! (featuring members of Cable, Mighty Kids, Pet Crow, and Little Courage) and we’ve got the long-player from disco punks Bugeye to look forward to. Later in the year both Fightmilk and Chorusgirl will return with albums but we’ll be filling the intervening months with a few more releases, and more hook ups with other labels, we’re yet to announce.

Mostly though we’re looking forward to treating our membership not only to music but to other stuff as well and finding more indie labels, promoters, publications, and shops to work with to fight ever harder for diversity, equality, and fairness for our artists and more broadly in music. To that fight, of course, we’re providing with the best soundtrack. Join us!



Thank you Reckless Yes! So excited to see what will come your way in 2020!

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.