Electronic music innovator Oval announces new EP and album, listen to first track “Eksploio”

November 1, 2019

Electronic music innovator Oval announces two new releases:
Eksploio EP
and new album

due out 8 Nov 2019 and 17 Jan 2020

Both records see Popp exploring and subverting elements of club music, presenting some of his most exhilarating and emotive work to date

Listen to the title track from Eksploio:

Electronic music innovator Markus Popp has announced two new releases under his Oval moniker; new EP Eksploio due out 8 November 2019, followed by new album Scis due out 17 January 2020. Eksploio teases the new direction for Popp’s output as Oval, exploring and subverting elements of club music and experimenting with a new palette of sounds to create some of his most exhilarating and emotive work to date.

Oval began in the early 90’s and rapidly gained acclaim for its innovations in electronic music. Popp championed software intuition over his own role in music making for many years, anticipating the AI trend in composition by nearly 30 years. Early albums found a critique of the entire system of recorded music built into every gesture. Popp toured with a desktop computer and projected his screen, constructing remarkably evocative and emotional performances from file manipulation. Each new Oval release saw Popp radically redefine his practice, introducing new elements and embracing new creative challenges, integrating cutting-edge technology and processes into his practice to ensure that each record sounded as contemporary and exhilarating as the last. 

Where early compositions saw Popp tinkering with software and systems to reduce his own visible hand in the music, Scis and Eksploio instead foreground the human element in his creation, shifting focus from process to composition. On both records, he injects a newfound playfulness into his intricate loops architectures, augmenting neon electronics with an array of acoustic instruments. Sounds sourced from prepared pianos, woodwinds and strings were manipulated and sculpted with simulated sounds into pieces that are as immediately affecting as they are meticulously detailed. 

Eksploio EP tracklist:
1. Eksploio
2. Paragramm
3. Blissous
3. Ambik
5. Brockaat

Scis tracklist
1. Twirror
2. Robussy 
3. Fluoresso
4. Pushhh
5. Impecco
6. Cozzmo
7. Improg
8. Mikk
9. Oxagon
10. Piqqo

Pre-order Oval’s Scis:

Pre-order Oval’s Eksploio:

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.