CASPIAN return with the Will Yip produced new album ‘On Circles’, set for release Jan 24th through Triple Crown – New single + video ‘Flowers Of Light’

November 14, 2019

Massachusetts 6 piece CASPIAN return with a band new album ‘On Circles’, set for release on January 24th 2020 through
Triple Crown Records

Produced by Will Yip (Code Orange, The Menzingers, Turnstile), the album also features vocal tracks for the first time, with Kyle Durfey from Pianos Become The Teeth guesting on ‘Nostalgist’

Pre-order the album – HERE

Ahead of the album release, the band release a new track ‘Flowers Of Light’, watch the video – HERE

Massachusetts-based 6 piece CASPIAN make their long anticipated return with their first album in over four years, releasing the Will Yip produced ‘On Circles’ on January 24th through Triple Crown Records.

The band, who have been dubbed “the most regal of the instrumental new rock school” (Pitchfork) and post-rock cosmonauts (Spin), give fans an early preview of the eight-song, 46-minute album, debuting track  ‘Flowers of Light’.

Guitarist/keyboardist Phillip Jamieson describes the track “Flowers of Light is our attempt to find the intersection between propulsive, relentless energy and a trance like sense of reverie. It’s also a hell of a lot of fun to play “

“I’ve grown weary of reading about bands discuss the renewing, rehabilitative properties their most recent [album] has had on them,” says Jamieson of the mindset the band had going into recording ‘On Circles’“They incur corrosion, come close to running out of gas, descend into the dark abyss, and finally emerge on the other side with a record that has given them crystal clear perspective and a confident path forward. ‘On Circles’ is not that record.”

Instead, this majestic collision of post-rock, metal, shoegaze, electronics, noise, minimalism and ambient music is an existential meditation, an acceptance of the cyclical nature of both life and career. Recorded at Studio 4 in Conshohocken, PA, by producer Will Yip (Code Orange, Defeater, Quicksand, Turnstile), ‘On Circles’ marks the most organic writing and recording sessions in CASPIAN’s 15-year history. Together for four weeklong songwriting sessions, the band opted for music gleaming with visceral impact instead of over-thought tangles, over-arching concepts and drawn-out crescendos. The band also have two tracks with vocals, one with Jamieson and another, ‘Nostaglist’ featuring Kyle Durfey from the band Pianos Become The Teeth.

The news of ‘On Circles’ impending release finds CASPIAN preparing for the most extensive touring the sextet has done in recent years: heading to China in December, followed by the band’s first visit to Western North America in three years and a newly announced swing down the east coast. UK and European dates to be announced in the coming months, watch this space.

‘On Circles’ track list:
1. Wildblood
2. Flowers of Light
3. Nostalgist (feat. Kyle Durfey)
4. Divison Blues
5. Onsra
6. Collapser
7. Ishmael
8. Circles on Circles


CASPIAN have released four albums: The Four Trees (2007), Tertia (2009), Walking Season (2012) and Dust and Disquiet (2015). Since the Beverly, Mass-based band’s inception, they’ve earned accolade upon accolade for their sweeping, cinematic music. 2015’s Dust and Disquiet was hailed by Noisey as “the life-affirming soundtrack you need in your life,” Brooklyn Vegan exclaimed “eardrums will be blown and jaws will be dropped” upon hearing the 10-song release,  while Spin described the sextet’s output as “epic, wordless orchestral swells on the lush, layered, and crushingly pretty.”

Philip Jamieson (guitar/keyboards), Erin Burke-Moran (guitar), Jonny Asburn (guitar), Jani Zubkovs (bass), Calvin Joss (guitar) and Justin Forrest (drums).

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.