News

Squid announce biggest headline UK show, SCALA 2nd April 2020

October 13, 2019

SQUID
Announce they’ll be headlining London’s SCALA 2nd APRIL

Tickets on sale now: 
https://birdonthewire.seetickets.com/ev…/squid/scala/1446274

New EP ‘Town Centre’ out now on Speedy Wunderground
Available on vinyl 15th November

The hotly tipped post-punk, disco-funk phenomenon Squid announce they will be headlining their biggest show to date, on the 2nd April at London’s SCALA. Tickets on sale now. Squid have also confirmed their October UK tour has now SOLD OUT. 

Squid have built their name on the back of a run of fine singles and their incendiary live shows which displays an energy and conviction that is positively transcendent in its chaos and fever. New EP ‘Town Centre’ out now on Dan Carey’s Speedy Wunderground label is the most complete body of work they’ve created yet and is not only an enthralling listen, but also serves as a compelling blueprint as to what they can achieve.

‘Town Centre’ is a perfect distillation of everything they have done so far, making good on the angular funk of ‘The Dial,’ the disco-punk of ‘Houseplants’ the ambitious songwriting of ‘Terrestrial Changeover Blues’ and through to their more ambient-leaning early work.

Formed in Brighton, Squid is the brainchild of Ollie Judge (Drums & Lead Vocals), Louis Borlase (Guitars & Vocals), Arthur Leadbetter (Keyboards and cello), Laurie Nankivell (Bass & Brass) and Anton Pearson (Guitars & Vocals).

‘Town Centre’
1. Savage
2. Match Bet
 3. The Cleaner
 4. Rodeo

SQUID DATES
Sat 12 Oct – Tenement Trail, Glasgow, UK
Sat 12 Oct – Neighbourhood Festival, Manchester 

Sat 19 Oct – Future Days, Birmingham, UK
Sat 19 Oct – Simple Things, Bristol, UK
Sun 20 Oct – Swn Festival, Cardiff, UK
Mon 21 Oct – The Shipping Forecast, Liverpool, UK – SOLD OUT
Tue 22 Oct – Yes, Manchester, UK – SOLD OUT
Wed 23 Oct – The Picture House, Sheffield, UK – SOLD OUT
Thu 24 Oct – Elsehwere, Margate, UK – SOLD OUT
Fri 25 Oct – London Calling, Amsterdam, Netherlands
Sun 27 Oc Tunbridge Wells Forum, Tunbridge Wells, UK – SOLD OUT
Fri 1 Nov – Pitchfork Paris, Paris, France 
Sat 2 Nov – Soy Festival, Nantes
Wed 6 Nov – Village Underground, London, UK with Warmduscher – SOLD OUT 
Thur 7 Nov – Roundhouse, London, UK with Metronomy
Fri 8 Nov – Sonic City, Belgium
Fri – Sat / 8 – 9 Nov – Primavera 20th Anniversary Weekender, Benidorm, Spain
Sun 10 Nov – Sonic City, Kortrijk, Belgium
Mon 11 Nov – 02 Academy Leeds, Leeds with Metronomy
Wed 13 Nov – SWG3, Glasgow with Metronomy
Sat 16 Nov – 02 Institute, Birmingham with Metronomy

Thur 2nd April – Scala, London 

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.