SEBASTIAN – Shares brand new single ‘Sober’ ft. Bakar | New album ‘Thirst’ out 8th November

October 13, 2019
Ella Herme





Innovative French artist SEBASTIAN today releases a brand new single ‘Sober’ – the fifth track to be taken from his sophomore album, ‘Thirst’,which isreleased 8th November via Ed Banger Records / Because Music. The album is available to pre-order now.

The pulsating synth driven track features rich vocals from rising London artist Bakar and a signature SebastiAn bassline. The single is taken from his first album in eight years, following 2011 debut, ‘Total’. Previous tracks released from the new album include ‘Thirst’, ‘Run for Me’ featuring acclaimed US R&B singer Gallant, ‘Better Now’ featuring American singer Mayer Hawthorne, and ‘Beograd’.

SebastiAn says of ‘Sober’:“I’m thrilled to have Bakar on my new single because he has the best communicative energy in the whole world. Making the track together was a breeze; he’s so easy to work with, I love his instinctive intensity.

Bakar says: “Working with SebastiAn has been a great progression for me, a dream of mine too. We started working on music for my LP and once I learnt that he was working on a follow-up album I instantly wanted to be involved! I feel honoured that he brought me into his world.”

Bringing different styles together as one on the new record – from European techno and electro to classic pop and R&B, hip-hop and American gospel – SebastiAn has also called upon an impressive list of artists to feature on the 14-track album. They include acclaimed singer and actress Charlotte Gainsbourg (SebastiAn primarily produced her 2017 album ‘Rest’), cult pop duo Sparks, Grammy-nominated singer Mayer Hawthorne, American singer/songwriter Syd from The Internet and experimental Iranian/Dutch artist Sevdaliza.

SebastiAn says the approach of making the new album was formed by his previous production work with the contrasting personalities of Frank Ocean and Charlotte Gainsbourg and switching his process accordingly. He explains: “I found this really interesting. My record came about from all the encounters I made going between these two projects.”

The full album tracklisting is:Thirst
Doorman ft. Syd
Better Now ft. Mayer Hawthorne
Pleasant ft. Charlotte Gainsbourg
Yebo ft. Allan Kingdom
Sev ft. Sevdaliza
Sweet ft. Loota
Sober ft. Bakar
Time to Talk ft. Sunni Colòn
Handcuffed to a Parking Meter ft. Sparks
Run for Me ft. Gallant

SebastiAn has been releasing pioneering and acclaimed music via label Ed Banger Records for years. Since his debut album, SebastiAn has also produced for other artists including Frank Ocean, Kavinsky, Charlotte Gainsbourg, Philippe Katerine, Woodkid, and has created remixes for Daft Punk, Kelis, The Kills, Rage Against the Machine and more. 

SebastiAn’s revolutionary debut featured his signature eclectic combination of sounds – techno, electro, house, funk, soul, pop and classical elements – to create something new and unique. He has also co-produced several film soundtracks including Quentin Dupieux’s ‘Steak’ (2007) – in which he also had a leading role – and Romain Gavras’ ‘Our Day Will Come’ (2010) and ‘The World is Yours’ (2018), which he produced with Jamie xx. 

Outside of traditional music releases, SebastiAn is also heavily involved in (and respected by) the worlds of art and fashion. He recently began a long-lasting collaboration with world-renowned fashion house Saint Laurent and the luxury label’s creative director Anthony Vaccarello. He created the sound for most of their catwalk shows, including the most recent at Paris Fashion Week, and the label produced the visceral visual for ‘Thirst’, which was directed by Gaspar Noé. 

After live dates including Sonar Festival, Barcelona and Osheaga Festival in Montreal so far this year, SebastiAn will be performing at Pitchfork Festival in his native Paris on 2nd November with more tour dates to be announced. 

Follow Sebastian:


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.