Manchester’s SPRINTERS share new single 3’s & 4’s, taken from their new album ‘Struck Gold’ due 15th November via Meritorio Records

October 21, 2019


Share 2nd single ‘3’s & 4’s’

Taken from the new album Struck Gold’ due 15th November
via Meritorio Records

Manchester’s Sprinters have shared new single ‘3’s & 4’s’, the second track to be taken from their new album Struck Gold, due 15th November via Madrid’s Meritorio Records

Initially a solo recording project of Neil Jarvis, the now four-piece released their self-titled debut on Manchester’s Icecapades label (SlowcoachesIrma Vep and Cult Party) in 2017 as a true labour of love, recorded from songs Jarvis had played solo years before that combined elements of surf, indie rock and dream pop.

On ‘Struck Gold’ the band explore different territory and offer a much more ambitious affair, sonically the songs are more powerful, more focussed, and the songwriting more streamlined. The shiny indie pop side to the band is dulled down and instead they offer up some of their raunchiest songs to date, dialling up the noise with a potent dose of raucous indie guitar pop.

New single ‘3’s & 4’s‘is a twinkling, melancholy pop number which singer Neil Jarvis says is “A sad song about accepting an awful situation, though it catches you off guard because it’s pretty upbeat and poppy. Bittersweet songs have always resonated with me.”

Live Dates:
Friday 15th November – Aatma, Manchester 

More about Struck Gold:

After 3 years of playing constant shows the band took 2018 off to work on their sophomore album and finished recording earlier this year. 

‘Missing’ see’s the band at their rawest, blistering lead lines, and dreamy yet off kilter rhythm sections as the band explore shoegaze territory, and is one of the bands most ambitious songs. The album also has it’s softer moments, ‘The Light’ is the first ballad for the band, and evokes the sound of bands such as The Replacements, Guided By Voices and Yo La Tengo yet still remaining in the here and now, whilst lead single ‘Ending’ is a shimmering and edgy drone rocker.

The band spent a year recording on and off at drummer Sam Almond’s studio in Chorley Lancashire, recording week nights and the odd weekend. Jarvis said: ‘This record was a real band effort, everyone contributed to the sound. The songs were mostly finished in the studio and we’d only been playing two or three at live shows’. Jason Hughes who played guitar on the new record had to leave the band shortly after finishing it due to joining fellow Wigan group TVAM.

Neil Jarvis said on the title: ‘I wanted a triumphant title for these songs, and ‘Struck Gold’ was on my mind a good while whilst recording. While the lyrical content tells a more sombre story the sound is polar opposite, a celebration even and I wanted a title to convey the music.’ 

The band launch their album in Manchester at Atama Venue in the Northern Quarter on Friday 15th November and will then be embarking on a full UK tour in the new year.

Pre-order here:


1. Struck Gold
2. 3’s & 4’s
3. Missing
4. The Light
5. Ending
6. Demolition
7. It’s Gone
8. Scream 2
9. Virtue
10. Undone
11. Struck Gold (Reprise)

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.