Johnny Marr announces new 7″ Singles Box Set ‘Single Life’ for December 6th

October 4, 2019





Johnny Marr has announced details of ‘Single Life’, a limited edition 7” Box Set featuring Johnny’s first ten solo single releases, due for release on December 6th. 

From 2012’s ‘Upstarts’ to 2018’s ‘Spiral Cities’, and new live favourite ‘Armatopia’, the release also contains vinyl debuts for promo-only track ‘The Messenger’, backed with an exclusive unreleased demo version of ‘New Town Velocity’. All ten 7” singles are pressed onto coloured vinyl and the set is completed by two limited edition photographic prints, exclusive to ‘Single Life’.

‘Single Life’ marks the close of the ‘Call The Comet’ tour, an 18-month run that’s seen Johnny complete a full tour across North America, major summer festival appearances and sold-out headline shows across the UK and Europe in 2019 alone.

Acclaimed performances at All Points East, Glastonbury, Nile Rodgers’ Meltdown, Edinburgh Summer Sessions, Mad Cool, Pukkelpop and many more saw early 2019 single ‘Armatopia’ fast confirmed a new live favourite. Described by Noisey as “combining Marr’s utopian fixation with crisp synths, a buzzy guitar line and visuals that recall a party at the end of the world. When life feels particularly dark, and it’s easy to wallow, a song like this says ‘fuck it – let’s dance instead.’”

Johnny’s fifth appearance at Glastonbury saw a career-spanning Other Stage set, as well as a surprise collaboration with The Killers to close the Pyramid Stage, dubbed “one of the most high-octane and spine-tingling moments of the festival” by The i Newspaper.

Summer headline gigs across the UK also included a memorable performance at Exeter’s Lemon Grove where, in a now viral  video clip, Johnny invited an eager young fan on stage to join him for a rendition of ‘This Charming Man’.

Following the release of latest single ‘The Bright Parade’, Johnny was awarded the ‘Pioneer Award’ at the 2019 AIM Awards ceremony in celebration of his outstanding contribution to popular culture.

Due this December 6th, ‘Single Life’ celebrates Johnny’s first ten solo single releases to date, including highlights from 2018’s ‘Call The Comet’. The album achieved both the highest chart position (#7) and the strongest reviews of three albums to date, dubbed “a triumph” by The Guardian and “articulate and direct” by The Line Of Best Fit. ‘Single Life’ is available to pre-order  HERE.

Packaged in a metallic silver printed shoulder box with original 7” vinyl reproduction artwork and inserts, and two exclusive 7” photographic art prints, ‘Single Life’ includes ten individually coloured 7” vinyl singles detailed as follows:

– The Messenger/New Town Velocity (Demo version): Clear vinyl 

– Upstarts/Psychic Beginner: Red vinyl 

– New Town Velocity/The It-Switch:Silver vinyl 

– Easy Money/Use Me Up: White vinyl 

– Dynamo/Struck: Yellow vinyl 

– I Feel You/Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want (Live): Gold vinyl (including original issue postcard) 

– Candidate/Exit Connection: Blue vinyl 

– Hi Hello/Jeopardy: Orange vinyl 

– Spiral Cities/Spectral Eyes: Magenta vinyl 

– Armatopia/The Bright Parade: Turquoise vinyl

Follow Johnny Marr online:

Official site

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.