THE SPRINGFIELDS back catalogue reissued in ‘Singles 1986-1991’, due 15th November via SLUMBERLAND RECORDS, listen to track ‘Sunflower’

September 24, 2019


“Singles 1986-1991” due 15th November
via Slumberland Records

Slumberland Records have announced they will release a new singles collection for indiepop royalty The Springfields on the 15th November, entitled ‘Singles 1986-1991′. 

When it comes to indiepop, few names are as respected as Ric Menck and Paul Chastain. Through years of collaboration (perhaps most notably with The Velvet Crush) they just about *were* the entire US indiepop scene, but it’s as The Springfields that they made perhaps their best, most beloved records.

Taking their cues from influences like The Byrds and The Hollies they created a sound that was as jangly and melodic as their inspirations, marked by terrific songwriting, excellent tunes, and sterling arrangements.

‘Sunflower’ was their debut single for the legendary Sarah label and It’s as perfect as jangly pop can get; it’s descending riff is described by Menck as “riding on a sunbeam,” while the song “sums up what I was trying to achieve with The Springfields.” 
St Etienne’s Bob Stanley picked it as Single of The Week in the NME on it’s 1988 release, and it sounds just as fresh today as it did then. Timeless.


Listen to ‘Sunflower’ here:

More about The Springfields:
Singles 1986-1991 collects the 5 singles The Springfields released on Sarah, Picture Book, Summershine and Seminal Twang and adds one extra tune, here on vinyl for the first time.

From the Paisley Underground-aligned opener “This Perfect Day” through the perfect pop of songs like “Sunflower,” The Springfields created a compact, flawless catalog that more than justifies its legendary status and this timely reissue. Add in a clutch of savvy covers of songs by Matthew Sweet, The Pastels, The Clouds and Primal Scream and we have a time capsule of pop history that is as fresh-sounding as when these recordings were made 30 years ago.


1. This Perfect Day
2. Bicycle Song
3. Sunflower
4. Clown
5. Are We Gonna Be Alright?
6. Wonder
7. Tomorrow Ends Today
8. She Swirls Around Me
9. Million Tears
10. Reachin’ For The Stars
11. Tranquil
12. Scatter Good Friends

Pre-Order link:

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.