Mexican Radio share new single Night of the Nihilist!

August 26, 2019

Synth punk three-piece Mexican Radio are preparing to release their uncompromising sophomore album, Destruction/Reconstruction, out on 20th September 2019 via R.I.P. Ben Lee Records.

Mexican Radio share new single Night of the Nihilist!

Inspired by his own personal experiences and those of the artists and writers he loves, singer Nathaniel Fregoso’s (vocals, synth, effects) lyrics are a visceral exploration of historical events compiled within a 2019 context. With songs about Tolstoy, Dostoyevsky, Burroughs, Kirchner and F. Scott Fitzgerald, Fregoso has woven together threads of destruction and reconstruction and delivered them with a sardonic edge akin to vocalists such as Mark E. Smith.

This, combined with a lo-fi, synth punk ideology, has shaped Mexican Radio’s confrontational sound: recording everything live, on tape in an analogue studio with no overdubs. The trio have pulled on their vast knowledge of music and recording having played in, and continuing to play in, many other bands. The result of which is a uniquely constructed record, rich in layers and bursting with a prowling, off-kilter vibrancy from the volatile opener ‘Night of the Nihilist’ all the way through to closing track ‘Planet Tyskie’. 

Nathaniel and Dyan Valdes (vocals, synth) moved to Germany from California with their renowned band The Blood Arm. Having met Hannes Neupert (vocals, drums) while he was playing with his band The Mokkers, they joined forces to form German language Fall cover band, Der Sturz. From the ashes of Der Sturz, Mexican Radio were born. Making an immediate impact, Mexican Radio supported fans of the band Franz Ferdinand at Tempodrom in Berlin in only their fifth live show. As well as playing and performing around Germany and beyond, the trio run The Mexican Radio Radio Show, airing on KCRW Berlin, featuring interviews with the likes of Surfbort, Ezra Furman, IDLES, Death Valley Girls, We Are Scientists and many more. 

Destruction/Reconstruction is out on 20th September 2019 via R.I.P. Ben Lee Records.

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.