GRAYSCALE Release New Song ‘Old Friends’

August 12, 2019

GRAYSCALE Release New Song ‘Old Friends’

From forthcoming album ‘Nella Vita’

Set for release 06 September via Fearless Records

Philly quintet Grayscale will release their second album ‘Nella Vita’ on 06 September via Fearless Records and the band have now released a third song from the collection. The follow-up to life-affirming single ‘In Violet’ and the bittersweet ‘Painkiller Weather’, ‘Old Friends’ deals with the process of grieving, and it comes from a very real place. “There is a vein of this record that lyrically revolves around someone very close to me who I lost last year — he was 20 years old,” says singer Collin Walsh. “This song empathizes with the feelings he most likely had with the world and how, if given the chance, I would’ve talked about it with him and let him know I felt the same way. This is a song about wishing you could have one more day to talk through life with someone you love.”

Nella Vita’ as a whole chronicles an extremely personal journey for Walsh, yet it’s one that explores relatable ups and downs in life. “The music provokes a lot of visuals, because it’s very conversational, real, and romantic,” Walsh explains. “The songs are about what you go through in life and real experiences like love, sex, being a teenager, addiction, pain, joy, grief, death, and everything. Life isn’t just one thing; neither is music. We’re a rock band, but we want people to dance, laugh, cry, and have fun.”

Under a heavy influence of everything from Third Eye Blind to The 1975 and Jon Bellion as well as rotating through modern hip-hop and R&B, Grayscale dove headfirst into writing ‘Nella Vita’. At the top of 2019, the guys traded Philadelphia for Austin, TX, holing up in the Machine Shop alongside producer MACHINE (Armor For Sleep, As It Is, Lamb of God).

“There’s a lot of very pure shit straight from the heart on this album,” Walsh leaves off. “We want to display the whole spectrum of emotions. We spilled a lot into it and took the gloves off. I want people to able to listen this this record when they’re 16 or 50 and still find something that makes them say, ‘Fuck, I remember when this happened to me.’ We tried to make a timeless record for us in 2019.”

GRAYSCALE On Tour with Real Friends:
17 – BRISTOL Thekla
18 – LONDON Electric Ballroom
20 – BIRMINGHAM Academy 2
21 – NOTTINGHAM Rescue Rooms
22 – LEEDS Stylus
23 – GLASGOW King Tuts
25 – MANCHESTER Club Academy
28 – HAMBURG Headcrash
29 – LEIPZIG Moritzbastei
31 – MUNICH Feierwerk 
01 – COLOGNE Club Volta
03 – EINDHOVEN Dynamo 

Collin Walsh [vocals]  | Dallas Molster [guitar, vocals]  | Andrew Kyne [guitar] 
Nick Ventimiglia [bass]  | Nick Veno [drums]

Connect with GRAYSCALE: 

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.