News, Reviews

The Be Positives Announce Self-Titled Debut LP + New Single ‘Like Everyone’ due 30th July

July 19, 2019

The Be Positives 

Announce self-titled debut LP + New Single ‘Like Everyone’ due 30th July

THE BE POSITIVES is a northern conundrum. Consisting of Mike Seal (Guitar, Piano & Vocals), Rob Hatton (Bass & Vocals), Simon Mayne (Lead Guitar & Vocals) and Callum Darley (Drums & Vocals), they were splayed across Merseyside to Sheffield, all sharing an affinity for McCartneyDylanKinks and Nick Lowe,and later, converging on Manchester, they hankered for gigging at grotty pubs across the city.Now united, the four-piece invoke mad-pop affirmation through berserk instrumentation laced with smart lyricism.  

Two of the members are also of the Slovenly Records garage-rock outfit Proto Idiot, who’ve been supported by the likes of DorkLoud And Quiet,Louder Than War and VICE – the latter described them as [sounding] like The Kinks, Soft Boys, and TV Personalities all at once—and they’re stupid and stompingly brilliant”. The dim-witted moniker made way for The Be Positives’ nonsensical debut ‘Monkey (Cheetah)’, which received praise from LOUDER THAN WAR – and now they return, accepting societal homogeneity through second-slice ‘Like Everyone’.

Of the same vein as Cut Worms, filled with Lemon Twigs-esque zest, second slice ‘Like Everyone flaps about with math-rock melodies and striking signatures –  you never know quite where you stand – aligning it both musically and conceptually, feeding into Mike’s howls of “we’re like everyone…

The band elaborates; “Like Everyone was originally intended for Proto Idiot but the weird timing of it threw us and it got shelved. I’m glad we revived it for The Be Positives as it’s understated and simple, yet the concept behind it is far from…. It was also one of those rare occasions where a song falls out of the guitar fully-formed, which doesn’t happen often. We’re like everyone…

The single is set to be unveiled shortly but we can tell you it’s a knock out. Robust, layered vocals, harmonious and heart felt lyrics, punchy and melodic- it’s got everything!

A short composition clocking in at only 2 minutes 31 but easily one of the most captivating singles we’ve heard. “Like Everyone” is a sure-fire hit, to the point and enigmatic, effortlessly showcasing The Be Positives talent in full force. The single is set to soundtrack your summer.

Listen to previous track below:

The quartet’s self-titled album encapsulates their varied musical influences, from their garage fueled opening track ‘Like Everyone’ to the Nilsson tinged mad-pop of new single ‘Monkey. The Be Positives certainly don’t attach themselves to one genreExpanding on ‘Like Everyone’, the band said “The song was written very quickly on acoustic guitar in Mike and Callum’s kitchen. It was originally intended for Proto Idiot. You could sum the theme of the song up by simply saying, we all make mistakes; we’re all the same.”

The Be Positives release ‘Like Everyone’ on the 30th July and the debut full-length will be out on all platforms from the 3rd September 2019 via White Zoo Records.


23rd May, Band on the Wall – Manchester

6th Jul, R-Fest, Retro – Manchester
11th Jul, AATMA (Supporting The Goa Express and Farfisa) – Manchester

16th Aug, The Red Lion – Winsford

23rd Aug, JT Soar – Nottingham 
30th Aug, Hyde Park Book Club – Leeds
1st Sep, The Castle – Manchester

2nd Oct, Jimmy’s (Supporting Sky Valley Mistress and The Big Peach) – Manchester 

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.