Mike Patton and French composer Jean-Claude Vannier share the video for “Chansons D’ Amour”

July 1, 2019
Photo supplied by the label,


Following the recent announcement of the 12-song album Corpse Flower by Mike Patton (Faith No More, Mondo Cane) and renowned French composer Jean-Claude Vannier, a video has been shared for the track “Chansons D’Amour” directed by Eric Livingston

Jean-Claude Vannier comments “When I was a little boy, love songs terrified me, with their stupid Ophelias, faded flowers of melodramatics singers, quavering vocalises of another time, barbaric rituals, screams of impatient sexes, furious and bloody refrains, like in this beautiful and poisonous video. Afterwards, I lived some love stories and it was even worse, all a bazaar puppet show that moved me despite myself, took me hostage and blames me for these crimes that I did not commit” 

Director Eric Livingston adds “the melody on Chansons D’ Amour chased me around in the back of my head for a few days after listening. I found it to be a haunting and unapologetically honest version of Vannier’s original piece. When I was given the choice between a few songs to shoot a video accompaniment to, I gravitated towards this one. Mainly, because I knew it would be a challenge for me. To film something that is subtle, yet demands attention.” 

A variety of musicians, both in Los Angeles and Paris, took part in the recording of Corpse Flower with the Los Angeles team including Smokey Hormel (Beck, Johnny Cash)Justin Meldal-Johnsen (Beck, Air, Nine Inch Nails) and James Gadson (Beck, Jamie Lidell). The Parisian players are Denys Lable,Bernard Paganotti (Magma)Daniel CiampoliniDidier MalherbeLéonard Le Cloarec and the Bécon Palace String Ensemble.

The lyrics for “Ballad C.3.3.” are drawn from Oscar Wilde’s “The Ballad of Reading Gaol” poem, which was initially published using the name C.3.3. Corpse Flower is available now for pre-orders (, including special embossed versions featuring Kenro Izu’s stunning cover photo. The album will be available on 180gram coloured vinyl, as well as a CD digipak and digitally.

Corpse Flower track list:

1. Ballade C.3.3

2. Camion

3. Chansons D’Amour

4. Cold Sun Warm Beer

5. Browning

6. Hungry Ghost

7. Corpse Flower

8. Insolubles

9. On Top Of The World

10. Yard Bull

11. A Schoolgirl’s Day

12. Pink and Bleue

Mike Patton’s resume is virtually limitless, having kicked off his musical career as a teenager in the band Mr. Bungle, joining Faith No More in 1989 and going on to create a smorgasbord of bands and solo releases including Fantômas, Tomahawk, Mondo Cane, Dead Cross, Lovage and Peeping Tom. Jean-Claude Vannier, born in Paris during World War II, The Guardian dubbed him “the sound sculptor in Serge Gainsbourg’s shadow,” referencing his extensive work with the French musician including Histoire de Melody Nelson. His career has spanned nine solo records, countless contributions to film and TV scores, and his influence has been cited by numerous musicians including Beck, Pulse, Portishead, Massive Attack, Air and Tricky.
Mike Patton shall be performing two Mondo Cane shows in Italy during the summer – dates and details below. 

Live Dates:

31/08 – Prato, Italy @ Prato Piazza Duomo

02/09 – Milan, Italy @ Teatre degli Arcmboldi

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.