U.S. Highball Announce ‘Great Record,’ Out July 12th on Lame-O Records -Premiere New Songs “Hall of Heads” and “Don’t Travel Far”

June 14, 2019
Photo credit: Jay Anderson

U.S. Highball Announce Debut Album Great Record

Out July 12th on Lame-O Records

Premiere New Singles “Hall of Heads” and
“Don’t Travel Far”

Glasgow-based indie-pop duo U.S. Highball have just announced their debut full length album Great Record, Out July 12th on Lame-O Records. The band is now premiering two singles from the album “Hall of Heads” and “Don’t Travel Far.” Both singles are streaming now on Spotify, Apple Music, and across all streaming services. Pre-orders for Great Record are available now physically and digitally via Lame-O Records. 

From the bedrooms of Glasgow, Scotland comes Great Record, the debut full-length from U.S. Highball, formed of lifelong friends and neighbors Calvin Halliday and James Hindle. While taking a break from playing together in The Pooches, the twosome hunkered down and begin working in earnest on a batch of new songs exploring their shared passion for melody and brevity.

Foregoing a live drummer for the sound of an Alesis HR-16 drum machine, and employing a trusty Casiotone organ alongside guitars and synth, every note was recorded using just one SM58 microphone. Dozens of songs were assembled piecemeal at home over several months, with fourteen being dispatched across the pond to be mixed by Modern Baseball’s Ian Farmer at The Metal Shop in Philadelphia.

The result is Great Record, an irresistible half-hour of jangling power pop with hooks for days, on which songs about plush toys and Greek tennis stars sit cosily alongside ambivalent meditations on DIY culture, art school posturing and the vagaries of modern queer existence. Above all it’s a document of living in Glasgow and knowing that, despite the ceaseless rain, it’s actually the greatest city on earth.

Great Record is an album for any fan of short, sharply observed pop songs that make a point of lodging themselves resolutely in your brain on first listen. It’s astonishingly addictive, over before you know it, and demands to be flipped over and played again. It’s not called Great Record for nothing, you know.

Great Record track list:
1. Kelvinhall
2. Hall of Heads
3. Don’t Travel Far
4. 697 President
5. Summer Boy
6. Gold Coast
7. Shapovalov and Tsitsipas
8. Love Theme From “Great Record”
9. My Frankenstein
10. Old Place
11. Where’d The Century Go?
12. Do It Yourself
13. Pedro 2
14. Old Dumbarton Road

Tour Dates:
July 13th – Lancaster, UK @ Bingo Records Fest 
July 14th – Sheffield UK @ TBD with Family Selection Box 
July 20th – Glasgow, UK @ 13th Note – Album Launch Show with Cop Graveyard, Moonsoup, The Boys With The Perpetual Nervousness & Puke

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.