SadGirl’s album ‘Water’ streaming now ahead of release on Suicide Squeeze

June 11, 2019
James Michael Juarez

LA Pop/Rock Trio
stream debut album Water on Noisey
ahead of release this Friday on Suicide Squeeze

LA pop/rock trio SadGirl are streaming their new album in full on Noisey ahead of its release this Friday June 14 on Suicide Squeeze Records (The Coathangers, L.A. Witch, Death Valley Girls ). Listen to the album below and read the interview with frontman Misha Lindes.

Listen to Water now streaming on Noisey

Misha explains: “My goal was to paint a picture of what LA is in my head, rather than the reality of it. The reality is an amalgamation of the awesome shit that’s happening now, and the horrible shit happening, too. I’ve always yearned for the beauty in my writing of LA. I’ve always tried to achieve that and find that with my music.”  

Misha has put together an album of stories “I’m terribly nostalgic and pretty romantic,” he says, “Living here enhances my experience when I read a book about Los Angeles or see a movie about it. It turns a regular city into a really magical place. If you’re reading Joan Didion or some pulp novel, you feel that world when you’re driving down Wilshire Boulevard.”

Check out the video for the single, “Chlorine”, a melancholy ballad inspired by Otis Redding and John Waters. Shot on 16mm film, set in and around a trailer park, the story follows Chlorine as she skips town with her dirt bike-riding boyfriend, leaving behind her mother, the glammed up trailer park queen. 

SadGirl are acutely aware of that reality, and their analog rock n’ roll has always somehow managed to approximate the relentless optimism of the pioneer spirit, but they’ve also exuded some degree of self-awareness of the anodyne properties of vintage pop. With their debut album,the Los Angeles trio (Misha Lindes, vocals/guitar; Dakota Peterson, bass and David Ruiz, drums) tap into the romantic and nostalgic spirit of their native city while exuding a time-tested authenticity suggesting that they’ve had a peek behind the curtain of the manicured lawns, glitzy boulevards, and relentless sunshine.

Water was pieced together out of a series of recording sessions from the last two years using a variety of tape machines in a variety of environments—from living rooms to proper studios. Taken as a whole, they capture a band summoning the spirit of their surroundings in all its peaks and valleys. It’s a record steeped in the pop world of the past in order to create a contrast with our modern age. It’s a sugar-coated reminder of what we’ve lost, what we’ve never had, and what we’ll eventually lose. 

“This album is just my attempt to share my experience of Los Angeles,” Misha explains. “If there’s even one person that has a portion of that experience, I feel like it’s a successful record.”

Album Tracklisting

  1. The Ocean
  2. Chlorine
  3. Hazelnut Coffee
  4. Miss Me
  5. Breakfast for 2
  6. Little Queenie
  7. Mulholland
  8. Strange Love
  9. Avalon
  10. Water

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.