News

Penelope Isles debut new gem “Leipzig” taken from upcoming debut album “Until The Tide Creeps In”-UK/EU tour dates announced for later this year

June 2, 2019

Penelope Isles debut new gem “Leipzig” taken from upcoming debut album “Until The Tide Creeps In”

UK/EU tour dates announced for later this year

Brighton, UK-based quartet Penelope Isles, led by brother and sister Jack and Lily Wolter, have released “Leipzig” from their forthcoming debut album Until the Tide Creeps In, due out  July 12th on Bella Union. Stereogum premiered the video, saying: “Much like the other songs from this album, there’s a youthful, frolicking feel to the vocals that additionally serves to sweeten the top-line melody.” You can watch the lighthearted video, directed and edited by Jack Wolter, HERE, and pre-order the album HERE. Full list of the band’s EU and UK dates below.

Jack and Lily Wolter had this to say about the video:

We filmed the video in Berlin, Munich, Hannover, Diest and Luxembourg whilst on tour in Europe last year. We would constantly be on the lookout for perfect spots along the way and would keep our jeans and white t shirts folded up in a pile in the van ready to go. It’s funny that we actually forgot to shoot anything whilst in Leipzig! Although the shot of of J Sow playing drums in the woods looks very picturesque, we were actually all surrounded by German truck driver’s roadside turds! We had a laugh making the video and were all very impressed by Becky’s moves on the bridge in Munich! Germany is one of our favourite places to tour and it feels lovely to have these places within our music video.

Penelope Isle’s “Leipzig”is the third track released from the forthcoming album following “Chlorine,” as well as the love song “Round,” which is “a collection of moments and thoughts of what it’s like to be in love,” explains the band’s Jack Wolter who self-produced the album.

Formed around the chemistry between siblings and dual songwriters Jack and Lily WolterUntil the Tide Creeps Inis an album deepened by shared experience. Born in Devon and raised on the Isle of Man, the Wolters’ bonds were strengthened by separation when Jack moved away to study art at university at 19, when Lily was 13. As he puts it, wryly, “By the time I moved home Lily was not so much of an annoying younger sister anymore and had grown up and started playing in bands and writing songs. We soon became very close. I had written some songs, so we started a band called Your Gold Teeth. We toured a bit and then Lily left for Brighton to study songwriting. A couple of years later I moved down and we started Penelope Isles together.” For every sibling band forged in rivalry, many others mount an unassailable genetic argument for keeping the music in the family. The latter is assuredly the case with Penelope Isles, a quartet completed by Jack Sowtonand Becky Redford.

Crisp and woozy, blissful and biting, Until the Tide Creeps In is an album deepened by shared experience: experiences of, in Jack’s words, “leaving home, moving away, dealing with transitions in life and growing up. We are six years apart, so we had a different experience of some of this, but we share a similar inspiration when writing music.”

Until the Tide Creeps In is released 12th July via Bella Union. Album artwork and upcoming UK live performances below:
Saturday 15th June – Maastricht – Transformer Festival

Tuesday 25th June – Kiel – FahrradKinoKombinat

Wednesday 26th June – Berlin – Urban Spree

Sunday 30th June – Offenbach – Hafen 2

Saturday 6th July – Six Fours Les Plages – Festival Pointu

Friday 26th July – Topcliffe – Deer Shed Festival

Sunday 11th August – Cornwall – Boardmasters

Friday 16th August – Breacon Beacons – Green Man Festival

Saturday 17th August – Hasselt – Pukkelpop

Sunday 22nd September – Rotterdam – V11

Tuesday 24th September – Frankfurt – The Cave

Wednesday 25th September – Dresden – Ostpol

Thursday 26th September – Leipzig – Nochbesserleben

Sunday 29th September – Karlsruhe – P8

Saturday 9th November – Reykjavik – Iceland Airwaves

Monday 25th November – Guildford – The Boileroom

Tuesday 26th November – Cambridge – Portland Arms

Wednesday 27th November – Oxford – The Jericho Tavern

Thursday 28th November – Leeds – Hyde Park Book Club

Friday 29th November – Dublin – Whelan’s

Sunday 1st December – Newcastle – Cluny 2

Monday 2nd December – Glasgow – Hug & Pint

Tuesday 3rd December – York – The Fulford Arms

Wednesday 4th December – Leicester – The Cookie

Thursday 5th December – London – Oslo Hackney

Friday 6th December – Bristol – Rough Trade Bristol

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.