NO HOT ASHES – Announce UK & IRE Album Tour | Debut Album ‘Hardship Starship’ Out 16th August

June 14, 2019
Photography: Sam Crowston






Following the long-awaited announcement of their extra-terrestrial debut LP,  ‘Hardship Starship’ (out 16th August via Modern Sky UK) Stockport sensations NO HOT ASHES have announced their UK & IRE album tour for September & October.

The 13 date stretch will take ‘Hardship Starship’ from Guildford to Dublin, making stops in Leeds, Glasgow, and London before returning to their hometown for their biggest headline show to date at Manchester’s o2 Ritz.

Tickets on sale now

A close encounter of the Northern kind, “W.Y.N.A” (or When You’re Not Around) is the first single to be taken from ‘Hardship Starship’, the track finds the four-piece examining the abnormal, yet predictable complexities of human relationships.Once almost jettisoned from the band’s catalogue altogether, but re-visited, re-purposed, and electrified with space-age synth bleeps and rocket-fueled guitar riffs; the result is one supernova comeback single. 

Speaking about the track, NHA front-man Isaac Taylor says:

“”W.Y.N.A.” is a song about kicking off with loved ones, sleep deprivation and the cyclical nature of relationships. Originally this song was written as a slow acoustic track I thought would never come to light, but we were stuck for ideas one day in the practice room and tried it. Glad we did.” 

As its title would suggest, these aren’t the only star-gazing moments to be found on upcoming album ‘Hardship Starship’. Launching into the record with “Extra Terrestrial”, the band take us intergalactic from the moment go, with dark-matter dense basslines, choruses designed to be shouted to the heavens and lyrics inspired by that telepathic connection you feel when you meet the one you love. ‘Motion Sick’ dazzles with the reflective sheen of astronaut’s vizor; a track about loneliness of too much “space-cruising” away from your loved ones. “Paradise/Overdrive” makes the jump from the light-speed powered side one of the album to land with a slower, weightless proposition propelled by smooth jazz chord arrangements and an elating chorus about getting high. Astronomically, speaking.

Elsewhere the ‘Hardship Starship’ docks to observe a desolate, conflict ravaged, post-apocalyptic land, known to local inhabitants as… The United Kingdom. With his typical down-to-earth wit and charm, chief lyricist Isaac Taylor here addresses the economic inequality felt across the nation (’CAR’), ‘Trouble’ nods to violent crime and desperation, whereas ‘Indecision/Intermission’ provides an implosive big bang moment about Brexit and broken Britain; with ex-Imperial overlord David Cameron even making a “Guest Appearance” on the lattermost track.

‘Hardship Starship’ judders to a close with ‘Hey Casanova’, one of the band’s biggest sing-along moments to date with an accelerating drumbeat and sky scraping guitar lines setting a course for the stars with trailblazing style.

“This whole song is a fat riff with a fat ending.” Says Taylor on “Hey Casanova” , “We wanted to write something more in the style of the bands we grew up listening to and out came Hey Casanova. It’s a hard-hitting song which ends with a huge guitar line and a tempo increase for good measure.”

‘Hardship Starship’ was produced by Chris Taylor (The Coral, Everything Everything, Ian Brown, Bill Ryder Jones) at the legendary Parr Street Studios in Liverpool whom the band met in early 2018 whilst in the thick of demos and writing for the upcoming debut album, they formed an instant connection with Chris which can be felt throughout the whole record. It will be released on Modern Sky UK on 16th August 2019.  

Another formidable talent to emerge from Stockport, Greater Manchester in recent times, No Hot Ashes have been making waves around the North-West and beyond for the last few years. With a string of infectious singles in their repertoire including ‘Easy Peeler’, ‘Bellyaches’, and ‘Eight Till Late’, the band have received continued support across radio from the likes of BBC 6 Music and Radio X. Soaking up major support slots with the likes of Blossoms, Spring King, The Amazons and Prides around the UK, not to mention major festival appearances at the likes of Y NOT Festival, Isle of Wight and Kendal Calling, the band have already amassed over 4 million plays on Spotify. Word is spreading fast, so much so that the band were even asked to perform on hit BBC series ‘The A-Word’, Which was aired in the UK on BBC 1 and globally.

Following a landmark SOLD-OUT show at the 950 capacity Manchester Academy 2 last year (which sold out over a month before the show date) and recent intimate sell out at Manchester’s AATMA (in which 150 tickets sold out in under 10 minutes), fans will have the chance to catch the band again in 2019 as they prepare for a spate of new UK dates this Autumn, including a triumphant hometown headline date at the 1500 capacity Manchester o2 Ritz.



27 | Lowther, Kendal Calling 2019


02 | Leicestershire, 110 Above Festival

17 | Liverpool, Jimmy’s


04 | Guildford, The Boileroom

05 | Southampton, The Joiners

06 | Bristol, The Louisiana

07 | Oxford, o2 Institute

18 | Leeds, Oporto

19 | Birmingham, The Sunflower Lounge

20 | Newcastle, Think Tank? Underground

21 | Aberdeen, Drummonds

22 | Glasgow, King Tuts

26 | London, Hoxton Square B&K

27 | Manchester, o2 Ritz


11 | Belfast, Oh Yeah Centre

12 | Dublin, o2 Academy

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.