PINKY PINKY announce debut album ‘Turkey Dinner’ due June 14th on Innovative Leisure- Share new single “My Friend Sean” & May live dates

May 24, 2019


– Share new single “Mr. Sunday”
– Debut album ‘Turkey Dinner’  
  out June 14th on Innovative Leisure
– Play Dot to Dot Festival in Manchester, Bristol
  & Nottingham this weekend

LA-based trio Pinky Pinky have been touring Europe hard over the last few weeks, wrapping up the headline dates at London’s Sebright Arms last night before heading to Dot to Dot Festival in Manchester, Bristol & Nottingham over the next few days.

Today they share a third single from their forthcoming debut album, Turkey Dinner,’which comes out on June 14th via Innovative Leisure. “Mr Sunday” is a slow-building story of betrayal, showcasing the band’s ability to drive home vulnerable and honest stories through their songwriting. 

The release of ‘Turkey Dinner’ follows Pinky Pinky’s two prior EPs, most recently 2018’s ‘Hot Tears’. Their first full-length, however, is even freer than their previous efforts. It’s a patchwork quilt of garage rock and oddball indie. It’s rooted in classic bass, drums, guitar, but it’s bolstered by the perspectives of a trio of LA youths writing about their everyday observations, anxieties and passions.

Pinky Pinky have good gut instincts. During an era of limitless distractions, societal pressures and sonic trends, the three best friends are focused on being happy and blissfully on the outside of all that noise. The trio grew up together in Los Angeles and there’s a shared understanding of what makes them all tick. Together with her punk cohorts Anastasia Sanchez (vocalist/drummer, 20), guitarist Isabelle Fields (19), and bassist Eva Chambers (19) have a clear understanding that Pinky Pinky’s modus operandi is in not overthinking their decisions. 

For instance, “My Friend Sean” is a young fantasy about the dreamiest boy in class, “Mystery Sedan” is an LA story about a car being the only thing there in times of distress, “Lady Dancer” is about a stripper at a bikini bar in Los Feliz. When lead lyricist Sanchez met Chambers in the girls’ locker room in high school they knew that they’d be in a band together (Chambers and Fields had already met in middle school). All three of them had always dabbled in bands. Originally born in New York but moving to LA during childhood, Chambers began life in a band with her three older sisters, playing keys. She picked up a bass at the age of 13 after their endeavors had died a death. Fields, on the other hand, trained as a violinist but rebelled and taught herself guitar from the age of 12, while rearing herself on the Sex Pistols and riot grrrl bands.

Produced by Jonny Bell and Hanni El Khatib in Long Beach, the album is the most accurate representation of where Pinky Pinky is currently at live onstage and off it. They aimed to make a live-sounding record that didn’t feel too shiny in its production. As a result, ‘Turkey Dinner’ is unpretentious, raw and unpredictably unconventional.

‘Turkey Dinner’ wiill be released on June 14th via Innovative Leisure. Pre-order and streaming links here:

Pinky Pinky European live dates:
May 24 – Manchester, UK @ Dot to Dot Festival
May 25 – Bristol, UK @ Dot to Dot Festival 
May 26 – Nottingham, UK @ Dot to Dot Festival 

‘Turkey Dinner’ tracklist:
1. My Friend Sean
2. Mystery Sedan
3. Floorboards
4. Lady Dancer
5. Applecheeks
6. Do Me Dirty (Charlie)
7. Mr. Sunday
8. All The Birds
9. If It Didn’t Hurt
10. Sticking Around
11. Loose Change


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.