Hurry Announces Two Song Single ‘Frustrate You,’ Out Now On Lame-O Records

May 6, 2019
Photo credit: Chris Sikich

Hurry Announce Two Song Single Frustrate You 

Out Now via Lame-O Records

Philadelphia powerpop trio Hurry have just announced Frustrate You, a new two-song single out now on Lame-O Records. The new songs “Frustrate You” and “An Element Of Surprise” are streaming now via WXPN. The songs are available for purchase now via Bandcamp. Hurry will be playing with Happy Accidents at Everybody Hits in Philadelphia on Friday, May 10th. 

Hear Frustrate You streaming now via WXPN:

 What was once a solo project for principal songwriter Matt Scottoline has evolved into Hurry, a power pop trio from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania composed of Scottoline, Rob DeCarolis (Univox), and Joe DeCarolis (Psychic Teens). The DeCarolises are cousins and they are both very talented. “As talented as Matt Scottoline?” Of course. Please don’t attempt to pry the band apart with potentially hurtful questions. 

Hurry’s album Every Little Thought was released on February 23, 2018 on Lame-O Records. The album, written by Scottoline, is a light and dreamy plunge into life’s crushingly relentless uncertainty and doubt. The album is more pop-driven than Hurry’s previous efforts, focusing on catchy melodies, hooks, and harmonies influenced by Teenage Fanclub, Robyn Hitchcock, Yo La Tengo, and Guided By Voices. Of the new album, Scottoline — a natural salesman — says, “I tried even harder this time to make it good.” 

Hurry released it’s previous album, Guided Meditation, on Lame-O Records in 2016. It was recorded at Noisy Little Critter with Mike Bardzik. The album was likely critically acclaimed, however Hurry does not place much value on things like “critical acclamation,” nor do they place much value on “awards.” In fact, Hurry did not even pay attention to 2017’s Grammy winners. Ultimately, who knows if Guided Meditation won any (or all) of those awards. 

Since Guided Meditation’s release, Hurry has toured and played shows with Yuck, Nada Surf, and Tommy Keene, and have had their music featured on FXX’s Man Seeking Woman. Scottoline, however, is not sure how important any of that information actually is. “I don’t really think it is [important],” he says. Hm. You can judge for yourself. 

Every Little Thought focuses on the general indecision of existence and how it can affect interpersonal relationships, as well as the frame of mind with which you approach day-to-day life. It is nice to listen to and it will make you smile.

Frustrate You track list:
1. Frustrate You
2. An Element Of Surprise

Tour Dates:
05/10 – Philadelphia, PA – Everybody Hits
w/ Happy Accidents (U.K.) and Gladie

05/19 – Philadelphia, PA – World Cafe Live
Rock The Cause benefit for Rock To The Future

07/12 – Philadelphia, PA – Kung Fu necktie
W/ the Sheila divine

Hurry Online:

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.