CALEXICO and IRON & WINE share new single “Midnight Sun” from collaborative album ‘Years to Burn” out June 14 on City Slang- Tour together this Nov!

May 2, 2019
Photo credit: Piper Ferguson


– Share new single + lyric video “Midnight Sun”
– Collaborative LP ‘Years To Burn’ due 14th June on City Slang
– UK tour dates including London’s Royal Festival Hall this November!

Calexico and Iron & Wine have shared a new single and lyric video for “Midnight Sun” today, the second to be released from their upcoming collaborative album ‘Years To Burn’.The album is due 14th June via City Slang in the UK/Europe (Sub Pop in the rest of the world). They will also be touring together, performing the collaborative tracks from this record, with dates including London’s Royal Festival Hall and a headline slot at Cambridge Folk Festival.

In “Midnight Sun” Calexico’s Joey Burns and Sam Beam of Iron & Wine trade haunted-sounding verses over shimmering steel until the song devolves into a corrosive electric lead from Burns, like a dying siren. 

“Because we only had four or five days to make the album we didn’t overthink the process and just followed the flow. It’s these improvisational moments that are the glue and make for a great listen from start to finish”explains Calexico’s Joey Burns. “Sam sent some demos the week before we met to record the album. Based on the feel of those demos I wrote the song “Midnight Sun” the day I got to Nashville. I arrived at our rental house the day before everyone else and was happy to find a piano, old pump organ and guitar to do some writing. I was up late and came up with a tune that would bridge both bands’ worlds.”

Calexico & Iron & Wine UK tour dates:
2nd August – CAMBRIDGE – Cambridge Folk Festival
18th November – EDINBURGH – Usher Hall
19th November – LIVERPOOL – Philharmonic Hall
20th November – MANCHESTER – Bridgewater Hall
21st November – COVENTRY – Warwick Arts Centre
23rd November – LONDON – Royal Festival Hall
24th November – BEXHILL-ON-SEA – De La Warr Pavillion

Calexico and Iron & Wine first made an artistic connection with ‘In the Reins’, the 2005 EP that brought Sam Beam, Joey Burns and John Convertino together. The acclaimed collaboration introduced both acts to wider audiences and broadened Beam’s artistic horizons, but it was the shared experience of touring together in the tradition of Bob Dylan’s “Rolling Thunder Revue” that cemented the bond. Their metaphorical roads diverged in the years that followed, but they kept in touch and cross-pollinated where they could. Although they often talked about rekindling their collaboration in the studio and on stage, it wasn’t until last year that their schedules aligned.

‘Years to Burn’ was recorded in Nashville with noted producer Matt Ross-Spang over the course of five days at Sound Emporium, a fabled studio founded in the sixties by Cowboy Jack Clement and the site of countless landmark sessions in country and rock over the ensuing decades. It features contributions from veteran Calexico trumpet player Jacob Valenzuela and Paul Niehaus on pedal steel, along with frequent Beam cohorts Rob Burger (Tin Hat Trio) on piano and Sebastian Steinberg (Soul Coughing, Fiona Apple) on bass.

‘Years to Burn’ features ten new original compositions. While Beam wrote all the songs for ‘In the Reins’, this recording features contributions from both Beam and Burns as well as from Convertino and those featured on the record. While the two may have taken differing approaches to songwriting, the spirit of collaboration was alive and well in the studio; Sam shared demos ahead of time and was ready for the others to con-tribute with arrangement ideas and instrumental parts, while Joey spontaneous as ever, came in with concepts and an eagerness to improvise.

“This project had to find the right time,” Joey concludes. “We’re all different people than we were in 2004, and music helps to bridge some of the gaps. For all the things going on in our world and in each of our lives, this connection, this friendship, this love that we have—this album is a vehicle for that bond. It’s a chance to see where we’re at, take stock and be there for our friends.” ‘Years To Burn’ is available 14th June via City Slang in the UK/Europe and Sub Pop in the rest of the world. Pre-order here:

‘Years To Burn’ tracklist:
1. What Heaven’s Left
2. Midnight Sun
3. Father Mountain
4. Outside El Paso
5. Follow The Water
6. The Bitter Suite (Pájaro/Evil Eye/Tennessee Train)
7. Years To Burn
8. In Your Own Time

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.