PATIENCE (Roxanne of Veronica Falls) shares video for “Living Things Don’t Last”, from Dizzy Spells, due 3rd May + Live dates

April 30, 2019


Unveils new single/video, “Living Things Don’t Last”

Announces London headline show at Moth Club on 18th June

Debut album, Dizzy Spells due 3rd May on Night School Records / Winona Records (US)

Friday 3rd May – Album launch at Gold-Diggers, Los Angeles 
Thursday 13th June – Poetry Club, Glasgow
Tuesday 18th June – Moth Club, London (

“The song uses Clifford’s cut-glass British accent to call to mind New Order’s more heartwarming moments, or a more polite Chromatics. The song is a battle cry in the face of apathy from the former Veronica Falls member..” – The Fader on “Living Things Don’t Last

Patience began as bedroom synth project for songwriter Roxanne Clifford after the break up of her acclaimed indie pop band Veronica Falls. Born out of a desire to experiment with a new sound and analogue synthesizers, the project has since grown to become an all-encompassing persona and serves as the main vehicle for the full emotional spectrum always latent in Clifford’s songwriting.

From her first long-sold-out 7” singles on Night School, Clifford’s knack for melodic hooks and oblique emotional stances already contained a glistening sheen of promise. ‘Dizzy Spells’ serves as an intimate portrait of Clifford’s creative adventure, almost diaristic, conceived and recorded in her home studio, as well as with collaborators Todd Edwards (Daft Punk/Uk Garage fame)Lewis Cook (Free Love/Happy Meals) and engineer Misha Hering (Virginia Wing).

Now she also shares new single, “Living Things Don’t Last” via The Fader – written in London and recorded in LA with Todd Edwards – along with a video.

Clifford says of it, “When I rollerskate my mind goes somewhere else completely and I fall into a sort of trance like state of content. I wanted to conjure up this feeling in the visual which acts as a simple and hypnotic companion to the song. The footage was shot from a car window and shows me endlessly skating around Silver Lake Reservoir at dusk.”Watch it below…

Dizzy Spells delivers a debut album that twists Clifford’s songwriting into new shapes and ecstasies. The album dances around melancholy, thrown to the floor like a bad dream to be circled, emerging bright-eyed into the early morning full of hope. “The Girls Are Chewing Gum” (produced by Todd Edwards) bursts open Dizzy Spells like fresh fruit: sweet and rich with a synth-bass line beamed down from Chicago House heaven. Exquisitely sung by Clifford, it’s a wonderful, funky, instant-classic hinting at sexuality and memories dredged from our bodies’ secrets. The bouncy production expertly renders the addictive power of our ephemeral pleasures.

“Living Things Don’t Last” chases themes of longing and loss, opening up into a life affirming chorus that sings of transience, the passing of time and railing against inertia. It’s the perfect example of a song formula that Roxanne Clifford has almost patented: simple and cutting straight to the point. There are shades of Strawberry Switchblade or French synth pop pioneer Jacno in the happy/sad dichotomy and it is all the better for it.

Dizzy Spells features all three long-sold out singles, embedded in the full depth of Patience’s soundworld they fit like pieces of a puzzle.White Of An EyeThe Church andThe Pressure—all recorded in Clifford’s former home of Glasgow—crackle with razor sharp melodies and dancefloor-ready dynamics.

An ode to English folk singer Shirley Collins, a surprising yet innate influence throughout Clifford’s work. On “Moral Damage”, former Veronica Falls bandmate Marion Herbain joins Clifford on an anglo-french duet that feels instant and spontaneous, a cutting comment on emotional accountability.

More than a vehicle for Roxanne Clifford’s songwriting prowess, Patience is holding our hand through the night, dancing with tears in our eyes, dizzy and spellbound.  

Dizzy Spells is out 3rd May on Night School Records (World ex-US) and Winona Records (US).

Dizzy Spells Tracklisting:
1. The Girls Are Chewing Gum
2. Living Things Don’t Last
3. White Of An Eye
4. No Roses
5. Aerosol
6. The Church
7. Voices In The Sand
8. Moral Damage
9. The Pressure
10. Silent House


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.