Helms Alee share new single “Beat Up” from upcoming album ‘Noctiluca’ out April 26 on Sargent House

April 20, 2019
Photo Credit: James Rexroad

“Beat Up” appears on Noctiluca,
out April 26 on Sargent House 

While they honour their time-tested and well-loved brand of sludgy/psychedelic metal, Helms Alee are still eager to reinvent themselves. Their latest single, “Beat Up,” is testament to that indisputable fact. Oscillating between knuckle-dragging force and transcendental beauty, the trio bisect driving riffs and war machine drums with haunting vocal harmonies that have become synonymous with the Helms Alee paradigm. 

Listen to the rage-filled riffer “Beat Up” via Metal Injection 

After more than a decade of existence, five studio albums, and a slew of EPs, it’s easy to imagineHelms Alee continuing on in perpetuity as one of those tightly guarded cult artists. Leaning on an extensive catalog of treasures, the Puget Sound trio has continued their evolution into one of noise rock’s most formidable forces with each new release. Their forthcoming LP, Noctiluca, is a brilliant new chapter for the trio. 

Named for a bioluminescent marine algae that glows when excited, Noctiluca bears a radiancy all its own. A light blazing through a thicket of dark, Helms Alee’s music leaps from the sublime to the savage without warning or apology. With the aid of producer/engineer Sam Bell (Minus the Bear, R.E.M., The Cars), Noctiluca pushes the band’s methods (and volume) to new extremes. 

Noctiluca will be released via Sargent House on April 26 and is available for pre-order here.

Helms Alee will spend the summer touring the US alongside legendary duo Earth.

Helms Alee — Noctiluca Track Listing: 
1. Interachnid 
2. Beat Up
3. Play Dead
4. Be Rad Tomorrow
5. Lay Waste Child
6. Illegal Guardian
7. Spider Jar
8. Pleasure Torture 
9. Pandemic
10. Word Problem

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.