Big Nothing Premiere New Song “Honey” – ‘Chris’ Out May 10th on Salinas Records

April 23, 2019
Photo credit: Jared Castaldi

Big Nothing Premiere “Honey”
via The Alternative 

Chris Out May 10th on Salinas Records

Philadelphia’s Big Nothing are now premiering their new single “Honey” via The Alternative. The song comes off of their new album Chris, set to be released on May 10th on Salinas Records. Pre-orders for the album are available now via Salinas. The Alternative says about the album, “their combined songwriting comes together like the flavors of Neapolitan ice cream, with each bringing something different to the mix.” Big Nothing’s tour with Radiator Hospital begins May 6th. A full list of dates can be found below. 

Listen to new track “Honey” streaming via The Alternative

Pre-order Chris now via Salinas Records

Chris features vocals from three members of Big Nothing. “Honey” was written and sung by Liz Parsons, formerly of Casual. The band’s first single, “Real Name,” which premiered earlier this month via BrooklynVegan, was written and performed by Pat Graham, lead singer of Spraynard. The band also features Matt Quinn, formerly of Crybaby and Chris Jordan, formerly of Young Livers. 

Chris track list:
1. Waste My Time
2. Calm Me Down
3. Always Prepared
4. Carried Away
5. Quiet One
6. Honey
7. Real Name
8. Untitled
9. Autopilot 
10. Sister
11. Can’t Stop

Tour Dates:
w/ Radiator Hospital
May 6 – Richmond, VA – Space Litter
May 7 – Durham, NC – Pinhook
May 8   Athens, GA – Flicker
May 9   Atlanta, GA – Casa Nova
May 10  Chattanooga, TN – Sluggo’s
May 11  Nashville, TN – Hollywood Hideout
May 12  Bloomington, IN – Venue TBD
May 13  Columbus, OH – Dirty Dungarees Laundromat
May 14  Chicago, IL – Empty Bliss
May 15  Grand Rapids, MI – Corner Record Shop
May 16  Detroit, MI – Outer Limits
May 17  Toronto, Canada – Hard Luck Bar*
May 18  Montreal, Canada – Pouzza Fest
May 19  New York, NY – Trans-Pecos
May 21  Philadelphia, PA – PhilaMOCA

* = also w/ Samiam

Being in a band is often a cheap alternative to therapy. It allows an outlet for feelings its members can’t articulate. It provides a space for physical inhibitions to be let loose. For Big Nothing’s Liz Parsons, the need for that mental nourishment became evident when she moved to Philadelphia. She found herself fitting into the city nicely, yet felt isolated and empty. Her new home was one of America’s musical epicenters – a big reason she moved there – and she didn’t plan on wasting any time filling the indie rock shaped hole in her life. She shot a text to ex-Spraynard guitarist Pat Graham, who had recently had a conversation with Young Livers’ drummer Chris Jordan about starting a new project. Once Matt Quinn (of Crybaby fame) caught wind of the three playing music together – he begged to bring his Rickenbacker tone into the mix. After jamming out some Voice Memo riffs and Against Me! covers, Big Nothing was here to stay.  

While the four members have found significant purpose from playing together, Big Nothing’s upcoming album Chris continues to explore those feelings of emptiness that Parsons faced before the band began. Existing is weird and terrifying. Humans don’t often know how to comprehend the void. Quinn exemplifies this existential confusion in the album’s opening trackWaste My Time, “If I don’t know why I’m looking, then what can I hope to find out?” It’s both beautiful and awful and Big Nothing embraces it all.

Sonically, Chris finds itself borrowing cues from indie mainstays like Superchunk and The Replacements.  It’s clear that they are trying to unhinge themselves from patterns they’ve repeated in the past, but they’re also not afraid to blast the tried and true methods of rock and roll. The lyrics on the album range from cryptic and heady to unapologetically literal – the benefit of three songwriters. Their live show mimics the honesty of the album. Hell bent on ripping through their set as aggressively as they can, Big Nothing is a genuine rock band.

Chris is to be released on May 10th, 2019 on Salinas Records. It is the follow up to the band’s self-titled 7” EP that was released on Asian Man Records.

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.