BRUTUS announce new single CEMETERY – New album NEST due 29th March through Hassle Records + Sargent House| UK & European headline dates on sale now

March 3, 2019

BRUTUS announce new single + share video for CEMETERY

New album NEST set for release on March 29th through Hassle Records + Sargent House

Pre-order HERE

UK & European headline dates on sale now, also confirmed for The Great Escape Festival

Epic Belgian 3-piece BRUTUS are set to release their hugely anticipated second album Nest on March 29th  through Hassle Records in Europe and through Sargent House in the ROTW. In anticipation, the band are proud to release their gargantuan new single and kaleidoscopic video,Cemetery.

“At the end of our recording time in Vancouver we visited our management and US label Sargent House in Los Angeles. Our manager Cathy’s home is in the mountains and has this most beautiful garden, and we immediately knew we wanted this garden to feature at some point in something that Brutus would create. So we’re incredibly pleased to have had the video for our new track Cemetery shot there. Dancer Jarret and director Mitch Wells (from the awesome band Thou) got one message: just go completely nuts in the gardens, and we love what they captured. Spending time over there after just recording the new album felt like the closing chapter to our debut album Burst, and subsequently the colours refer to the artwork of that album; this ends a chapter and is a new beginning, from now on we only look forward.

[The track is about] Doubts. You just try so hard to just keep going and doing the best you can. But in fact, sometimes you only get shit in return. People don’t always backup the choices you’re making. The aggression in the high guitar notes resemble the irritation we felt towards everyone who was not driving along with us. In the second, compelling part we are asking them to give us time, so we can process what they’re saying”

To describe the last two years as a whirlwind for BRUTUS is something of an understatement. Having signed to Hassle Records, 2017 saw the release of their debut album, Burst, which set them on a path of award nominations and ‘album of the year’ accolades, as well as picking up huge fans from Lars Ulrich of Metallica to Simon Neil of Biffy Clyro. In the last 12 or so months, they have toured with Sargent House label mates Chelsea Wolfe and Russian CirclesBRUTUS also hit the road as main support to Thrice through Europe. Taking time out from the live circuit, the trio headed to Vancouver to record their second album, once again returning to Jesse Gander (Japandroids, White Lung, Baptists) at his Rain City Recorders studio in September 2018. The resulting 11 tracks form BRUTUS’s new album, Nest.

By their own admission, the formative sound of the band was shaped by their physical limitations; drummer Stefanie Mannaerts adopted vocal duties initially out of necessity. Having fully embraced her role as both vocalist and drummer, the full range of Stefanie’s multiple talents is showcased on Nest. The abrasive urgency of her emotive vocals is mirrored in the tribalistic drumming, just as tender whispers echo the gentle roll of percussion elsewhere. Co-conspirators Stijn Vanhoegaerden (guitar) and Peter Mulders (bass) complete the magic circle with pervasive riffs, dynamic bass lines, and a fine balance between uneasy restraint and unrepentant aggression.BRUTUS throws a net over post-rock, hardcore, metal and pop, gathering defining facets of each into their unique sound.

A diverse mix of influences penetrated the BRUTUS bubble, the biggest of which was the people around them on the journey to the creation of Nest. Be it the bands they toured with, their family at home, or indeed their own bandmates – human interaction is the nucleus of the album. However, additional sources of creative inspiration peppered their outlook; from Radiohead to Burial, from ‘Twin Peaks’ to Townes Van Zandt.     

The path BRUTUS has taken has been meticulously mapped out on Nest. All those glorious highs and euphoric moments are present – highlighted in magnificent technicolour no less. Burrowed in amongst those triumphs are moments of reflection; the choices they have made in pursuit of their goals and the impact those choices have had on both themselves and those they have left behind in their nest. The arc of the album charts the friction between the band’s forward motion and their desire to maintain a connection to those back at home. It’s a timeline of invincibility and doubt, of taking risks and letting go; a chronology of what they are and what they’ve done.

Bound by a thread that was intangible to others, their shared experiences, both good and bad;Nest is the sound of a band who know how to use the strength of their bond to full effect, to use every part of themselves as an additional tool for conveying their message: take care of those in your own nest. BRUTUS find their places of comfort to be very different to the ones previously held dear; the nest they started out with is not quite the same one as they stand in today.

Nest is released on March 29th and is available to preorder now on limited 12″ vinyl and CD, including EU web-store exclusive LP variant with limited 7″. Pre-orders available – HERE

All current and announced BRUTUS live dates below:

26 Meerhout, BE @ Groezrock Festival
28 Münster, DE @ Sputnik Cafe

29 Paris, FR @ Point Ephémère

01 Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso

02 Brussels, BE @ Les Nuits de Botanique @ Rotonde

04 Bristol, UK @ Exchange

05 Leeds, UK @ Hyde Park Book Club

06 Glasgow, UK @ Broadcast

08 London, UK @ Boston Music Room
09 Brighton, UK @ The Great Escape Festival
13 Köln, DE @ MTC

14 Hamburg, DE @ Hafenklang

15 Copenhagen, DK @ Vega

16 Berlin, DE @ Maze

18 Dresden, DE @ Scheune

20 Munich, DE @ Storm

22 Frankfurt, DE @ Nachtleben

24 Arlon, BE @ L’entrepot

25 Charleroi, BE @ Eden

26 Hasselt, BE @ Muziekodroom

29 Ghent, BE @ Handelsbeurs

30 Antwerp, BE @ Trix

23 Clisson, FR @ Hellfest
28 Madrid, ES @ Download Festival

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.