February 2, 2019




Watch the video for ‘LOVE ALL NIGHT (WORK ALL DAY)’ here

Watch her Jools Holland performance of ‘FARAWAY LOOK’ here

‘A commanding solo debut which turns Yola’s stories of heartbreak and defiance into widescreen, Dusty-styled ballads.’

– Mojo  

Walk Through Fire should make Yola unavoidable in 2019.  There is an irresistible magnetism to her vintage soul and gospel-tinged Americana, and songs that feel as if they have been around forever.’

– Guardian, Best New Music of 2019

‘Yola’s rich alto fits in seamlessly alongside the slide guitars, jangling piano and lush arrangements on her upcoming debut.’

– New York Times

‘Hails from Bristol, England but she sounds like she could be a church-raised Memphis R&B queen.’

– Rolling Stone

British rising star Yola today premiered the video for her single ‘Love All Night (Work All Day)’.  The track is the third pre-release song from her forthcoming debut solo album, Walk Through Fire, which is produced by The Black Keys’ eight-time Grammy Award winner Dan Auerbach.  The album will be released on February 22 on Auerbach’s Easy Eye Sound label. The video, directed by Dan Teef received high praise from Relix magazine, ‘The song showcases the warm, soulful vocals that continue to engage new audiences across the globe’.  Yolatours the UK in May and June, including a date at London’s 100 Club on May 29 (full tour dates here).

On the video, Yola said “My new video for ‘Love All Night (Work All Day)’ was shot in a stunning pub in Peckham, south London – I’ve lived all over London (including on the streets in East London at one time) but before that I lived in a shared house in South London and I think the area will always feel like my London home.  The song celebrates a way of life.  It’s a life I used to live, growing up in Bristol and working multiple jobs to get by as I started out in music.  I love listening to music from people who’ve not just been on a conveyor belt to the big time and I think it is important to hear more music from the working class again.   People who, at some point, had no choice but to work all day long and maybe take a risk in pursuit of what they love.”

Dan Auerbach stated, “The moment I met Yola I was impressed.  Her spirit fills the room, just like her voice…she has the ability to sing in a full roar or barely a whisper and that is a true gift.  She made everyone in the studio an instant believer.”

Yola was an audience favourite when she performed her single ‘Faraway Look’  on the BBC’s Jools Holland’s Annual Hootenanny on New Year’s Eve, alongside other musicians including: Michael Bublé, Jess Glynne, and Nile Rodgers (full performance here).

Hailing from a small town outside Bristol in the UK, Yola grew up in poverty with an unsupportive parent who “banned” her from making any music.  She later became homeless, living on the streets of London, and also experienced stress-induced voice loss.  Yola overcame these challenges to launch a successful sideline in writing, perform on pop hits, briefly join British band Massive Attack, and gain fans like the late great James Brown–who once told Yola, “Soul’s a thing, and you got it!” after she opened for him when fronting band Phantom Limb.

Her acclaim continues with an inclusion in NPR Music’s Artists To Watch For 2019 and positive reviews from Brooklyn Vegan and Refinery29for her recent song ‘Ride Out in The Country’ alongside inclusions in high profile playlists from Spotify’s Fresh Folk to Rolling Stone Magazine’s monthly playlist.  Additional media praise includes early support from the Wall Street JournalPasteStereogum, who have praised Yola’s powerhouse vocals and songwriting, comparing her to a diverse range of artists from the Staples Singers to Dolly Parton.

Written and recorded at Auerbach’s Nashville studio, Easy Eye Sound, Walk Through Fire is a contemporary twist on a traditional sonic tapestry of orchestral strings, fiddle, steel and shimmering tremolo guitars.  A truly collaborative record, it was written in the studio by Yola and Auerbach with contributions from songwriting legends who between them have written songs for artists from Glen Campbell to Aretha Franklin.  Auerbach also assembled his Easy Eye Sound all-star house band, composed of legendary session players.  Musicians who performed on the record include bassist Dave Roe (Johnny Cash) as well as drummer Gene Chrisman and pianist Bobby Wood, who played on hits by Dusty Springfield and Elvis Presley.  Guest performers include up-and-comer Molly Tuttle and country music icon Vince Gill.

Yola’s debut album Walk Through Fire is the latest release on Dan Auerbach’s record label, Easy Eye Sound, distributed by his longtime label Nonesuch Records.  To pre-order please visit:

1.             Faraway Look

2.             Shady Grove

3.             Ride Out In The Country

4.             It Ain’t Easier

5.             Walk Through Fire

6.             Rock Me Gently       

7.             Love All Night (Work All Day)         

8.             Deep Blue Dream

9.             Lonely The Night

10.          Still Gone      

11.          Keep Me Here

12.          Love Is Light

Produced by Dan Auerbach | Recorded & Engineered by M. Allen Parker at Easy Eye Sound | Mixed by M. Allen Parker and Dan Auerbach at Easy Eye Sound | Mastered by Ryan Smith at Sterling Sound 

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.