SPELLLING shares surreal “Under The Sun” video- Album ‘Mazy Fly’ out this Friday on Sacred Bones

February 18, 2019
Catalina Xavlena


– Shares new video “Under The Sun”
– New album ‘Mazy Fly’ out this Friday
  February 22nd on Sacred Bones

SPELLLING, the project of Bay-Area based Chrystia Cabral, has shared the video for new single, “Under The Sun,” – the latest offering from her forthcoming album, ‘Mazy Fly’ which is due out on Friday – February 22nd – via Sacred Bones.

“Under The Sun” is “is a cosmic prayer for good fortune,” says Cabral. “It celebrates the invisible energies that come together over time to create something radically new, like the birth of a star.” The music video, a collaboration between SPELLLING and emerging filmmaker Catalina Xavlena, is a 7-minute surreal dreamscape odyssey. Using only an analog 8mm camera, Xavlena interprets SPELLLING’s enthralling sounds through formless energy, vivid colour and cryptic storytelling —all swirling together into one phantasmagorical myth of the mind. This visual voyage boldly pays homage to 70’s avant-garde film and 80’s iconic music videos. There is a secret offered here—a secret that leads to uncovering the golden light of hope we did not even know we were looking for.

Chrystia Cabral began experimenting with music production in 2015 in an effort to carry on the creative legacy of a lost loved one and released her first full-length, Pantheon of Me’, in September 2017. Drawing heavily from messages in her dreams, her sound spirals through clarity and obscurity searching through landscapes of psychic space. The result is a divine soul music, soft in its restraint but heavy with passion. Hers is a unique vision, inhabiting a world of its own. 
‘Mazy Fly’, the second full-length by the Bay Area artist SPELLLING, and first for Sacred Bones, explores the tension between the thrill of exploring the unknown and the terror of imminent destruction. Chrystia Cabral spent the summer of 2018 in her Berkeley studio reflecting on the thresholds of human progress and longing for a new and better tomorrow. She was struck by the way the same technologies that have given humans the ability to achieve utopian dreams of discovery have also brought the world to the precipice of dystopic global devastation. Despite the darkness of this reality, ‘Mazy Fly’ is defiantly optimistic. It is a celestial voyage into the unknown, piloted by Cabral.

Pre-order ‘Mazy Fly’ here:

‘Mazy Fly’ track list:
1. Red 
2. Haunted Water
3. Hard to Please
4. Golden Numbers 
5. Melted Wings 
6. Under the Sun
7. Real Fun
8. Hard to Please (Reprise) 
9. Afterlife
10. Dirty Desert Dreams 
11. Secret Thread 
12. Falling Asleep
Spellling links:

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.