MINT FIELD announce new EP & share new single “Jardin de la Paz”- EP ‘Mientras Esperas’ due March 1st via Innovative Leisure

February 19, 2019
Adriana Tangassi


– Share new single “Jardin de la Paz”
– Announce new EP ‘Mientras Esperas’ due out March 1st via Innovative Leisure 

Tijuana-based psych trio Mint Field return with new EP ‘Mientras Esperas’, set for release March 1st via Innovative Leisure. The first single from the record “Jardin de la Paz is streaming online now.

In the words of the band themselves, “The ‘Mientras Esperas’ EP comes from a connection between what’s happening in the modern world and how that reflects and affects our minds. “Jardín de la Paz” is about taking a deep breath amidst all of this, it’s about acquiring peace of mind.”

With their 2018 debut ‘Pasar de la Luces’, released on Innovative Leisure Records, Mint Field made an album that couldn’t come from anywhere other than Mexico. It’s a unique combination of psych rock, dream-pop, shoegaze and krautrock, dreamt up and shaped by Amor Amezcua and Estrella del Sol Sánchez under the skies of Playas de Tijuana. Organic, spacious and inhabited, their music was driven by furious drums, dramatic basslines and distorted guitars. One year later, and the band has played more than 80 shows across Mexico, USA and Europe. They’ve played festivals such as Desert Daze, Pitchfork Music Festival Paris, Ceremonia, SXSW, toured with Ulrika Spacek and have opened for the likes of Courtney Barnett and Franz Ferdinand. Their music was also been chosen by Dior to illustrate its collaboration with the eight Mexican photographers who captured a collection inspired by escaramuzas, Mexican female riders who compete in the male-dominated rodeos.

Mint Field has since become a trio, with bass player Sebastian Neyra joining the band for the ‘Pasar de la Luces’tour. Written on the road and recorded in a couple of days during a stop-off in Los Angeles, Mint Field’s new EP ‘Mientras Esperas’ is more dry, more distorted and more powerful. It captures the essence and the intensity of their live sound and energy. This EP is a reflection of the band’s feelings towards the modern world: the lack of care for nature and what surrounds us, our selfishness towards it and our thoughtlessness of what we are about to loose. It’s about questioning your role, carving your own path and acquiring peace of mind throughout it all.mind through all of this. 

See Mint Field live:
2nd March – NRMAL Festival, Mexico City ‘Mientras Esperas’ track list:
1. Ella Se Queda 
2. Jardin de la Paz
3. Vamos Rapido
4. Ver Mas Alla
5. Eclipse Solar

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.