TALLIES – Share new single “Trouble” – Debut self-titled album due 11th Jan via Fear of Missing Out Records

November 14, 2018

Colin Medley



– Share new single “Trouble”
– Debut self-titled album due 11th Jan via Fear of Missing Out Records


With their debut album out 11th Jan 2019 via Fear of Missing Out Records, Toronto-based four-piece Tallies are sharing their new single Trouble, laden with a blend of shoegaze, jangly rock & indie pop sounds. The band are also set to play Focus Wales in May next year with more European tour dates to be announced soon.

Front-woman Sarah Cogan says the new track is about “the feeling of naiveté and being unable to predict certain situations when in possible danger.” She adds, “This innocence, for women especially, is impossible to maintain as you grow older.”

Tallies navigate an unfamiliar world on their confident self-titled debut album, which blends elements of shoegaze, dream pop, and surf rock into a fresh sound that’s all their own. Tallies is Sarah Cogan (vocals, rhythm guitar), Dylan Frankland (lead guitar), Cian O’Neill (drums), and Stephen Pitman (bass).

Cogan started music lessons at a young age, learning simple piano melodies and guitar chords that she could sing and write lyrics over. Frankland has also been immersed in music for most of his life, growing up with a music-obsessed father who introduced him to greats like The Smiths, The Sundays, Aztec Camera, and Cocteau Twins. He subconsciously carried these influences into Tallies, which is evident in the Johnny Marr stylings of his guitar riffs and the Robin Guthrie-tinged shoegaze textures of his production. “While writing this album, we were listening to The Sundays Reading, Writing and Arithmetic a lot,” says Frankland, adding, “Harriet Wheeler’s soft-spokenly sweet melodies has a major influence on where Sarah sometimes takes her writing to.”

The album was co-produced by Frankland and Josh Korody at Toronto’s Candle Recordings, a hot spot where locals like Metz, Dilly Dally, Austra, and Weaves have made indie classics. It’s also where Frankland works as an engineer/producer. With upbeat percussion, melodic bass riffs, and magnetic guitar leads, Tallies puts one-of-a-kind melodies to the universal impact of adulthood hitting you square in the face.

See Tallies live: 
17th Dec – Brooklyn, NY –  Baby’s All Right (Kanine Records, Dr Martens, Collide Holiday Party)
9th Jan – NY – Rough Trade instore
7-9th Mar – Savannah, GA – Savannah Stopover Music Festival
16-18th May – Focus Wales, Wrexham, UK

Tallies track list:
1. Trouble
2. Mother
3. Midnight
4. Have You
5. Not So Proud
6. Trains and Snow
7. Beat the Heart
8. Eden
9. Giving Up
10. Rocks
11. Easy Enough



You Might Also Like

1 Comment

  • Reply This Week’s Essential Releases: Reggae, Metal, K-House and More | Indie Brew Radio – Independent Music and News | January 12, 2019 at 11:24 pm

    […] album from Tallies, frontwoman Sarah Cogan returns to a few repeated themes; “Trouble” is about the impossibility of maintaining innocence; “Beat the Heart” deals with the modern world’s “lack of empathy.” Indeed, from the dying […]

  • Leave a Reply

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.